APS Graduation - July 2013

The summer graduation ceremony for APS graduates was on the 15th July 2013.

Many congratulations to all those graduating this year, both undergraduates and postgraduates, and to all our prize and award winners. We wish you all the best with the next steps in your careers.

Graduation 2013 Picture 6Graduation 2013 Picture 7Graduation Picture 2013 1Graduation 2013 Picture 2Graduation 2013 Picture 8Graduation 2013 Picture 9

APS Prizes and Receipients

JG Boswell Prize Winner

J.G.Boswell Memorial Prize in Botany

Founded in 1965 from subscriptions in memory of Dr J G Boswell, Reader in Plant Physiology, member of staff of the University from 1931-64, and Sub-Dean of the Faculty of Pure Science, the prize is awarded for final year examination performance.

Awarded to: Stephanie Osborne

AR Clapham Prize Winner

A.R. Clapham Prize in Ecology

This prize was established in 1993 by The New Phytologist Trust in memory of Professor A R Clapham. Head of the Department of Botany from 1944-1969, Acting Vice-Chancellor (1965) and editor of The New Phytologist from 1931-61. Awarded for final year project and exam performance in the area of ecology.

Awarded to: Christopher Kirby-Lambert

JD Jones Prize Winner

J.D. Jones Prize in Zoology

This prize was founded in 1980 from subscriptions in memory of J D Jones, member of staff of the Department of Zoology from 1949 to 1980 and is awarded or final year exam performance in zoology.

Awarded to: Dominic Swain

Professor Ian Rorison Prize Winner

Professor Ian Rorison Prize in Biology

This Prize was established in 2012 by Dr Monica Rorison, in memory of her late husband, Professor Ian Rorison, who was a former Professor of Plant Ecology in the Department of Animal and Plant Sciences at the University of Sheffield between 1961 to 1989.
Awarded to Level 4 undergraduate students on the Masters in Biological Sciences degree (MBiolSci) course in the Department of Animal and Plant Sciences

Awarded to: Kayleigh Kerins

Palaeontological Prize Winner

Palaeontological Prize

Awarded to the a student in their penultimate or final year of study for performance in palaeontological modules or project/dissertation work.

Awarded to: Daniel Delbarre

Acheivement in Biosciences Prize Winner

Achievement in Biosciences Prize

Awarded to a student who performs particularly well in their final year.

Awarded to: Elspeth Kenny

Sheffield Graduate Awards

The Sheffield Graduate Award is a University award made to students who have undertaken a co-ordinated programme of activities outside their degree programme, intended to enhance their experience of higher education and aid their personal growth. Departmental recipients are:

Kayleigh Carr
Bethan Corley
Jack Dorling
Jade Farmer
Rachel Hall
Elspeth Kenny
Henry Lonsdale
Katherine Maltby
Georgia Mills
Alice Mitchell
Ashley Payne
Joseph Prior-Jones
Luke Richards
Sarah Robinson
Bethan Rowley
Zoe Smart
Sophie Stockill