The University of Sheffield
Department of Archaeology

Current PhD research

Last Name First Name Thesis title email Supervisor
Andersson Anna-Karin The Ertebolle Culture of Southern Scandinavia prp05amk@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor John Barrett

Andronikou Natasha pra07na@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Jane Rempel

Atkin Alison Profiling the dead: demographic characterisation of mass fatality incidents in the past and the present a.atkin@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Dawn Hadley

Billington Kyle The implication of a grasping hallux for structure and function of the lower limb of early hominids and evolution of bipedalism prp10knb@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Kuykendall

Booth Thomas An Investigation into Diagenetic Pathways in Microscopic Bone and How They Relate to Special Practices prp10tjb@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Pia Nystrom

Brimacombe Conrad The use of dental microwear to understand the introduction of rice farming in the Japanese islands prq09cb@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Pia Nystom

Burke-Davies Clare Ceramics and the technologies of consumption in early bronze age Tsoungiza, Peloponnese prp08ctb@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Peter Day

Burke-Davies Tudur Early Medieval Llyn Tegidian Environmental Landscape Study prp07tld@shefffield.ac.uk

Dr Gianna Ayala

Campanacho Vanessa The influence of skeletal size on bone degeneration rate and its importance in estimating age-at-death in a Portuguese population (19th-20th centuries) and a North American population (20th - 21st centuries) V.Campanacho@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Pia Nystrom

Cassels Alex A new approach to late medieval dress accessories prp09akc@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Catania Angela AMCatania1@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor John Bennet

Cockrell Timothy The Don valley in prehistory: upland and lowland developments and interactions prp09tfc@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Robert Johnston

Crangle Jennifer The post-burial activities and practises undertaken in relation to disinterred human skeletal remains during the Later Medieval period of Britain and Ireland (c.1000-1500) prp11jnc@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor DM Hadley

de Carle Danielle Changing Arable Subsistence in Bronze and Iron Age South West Britain danielle.decarle@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Glynis Jones

Eldridge Ryan Copper production in the British Bronze Age and in its European context. prp08rse@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Roger Doonan

Finlayson Sarah A comparative study of the archaeology of writing in the Bronze Age Aegean prp06sjf@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor John Bennet

Finn Claire The material culture of drinking in the 17th-century Dutch Republic prp10cpf@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Ford Jane Hyaenas and Neanderthals in the British middle Palaeolithic JAFord1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Umberto Albarella

Fregni Giovanna Archaeometallurgy and wear analysis on bronze axes prp08egf@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Caroline Jackson

Garwood Samantha Christian and Muslim interactions in the post-medieval Adriatic SEGarwood1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Gilstrap William Ceramic Production Technology and Exchange in Late Helladic IIIB Period in the Area of the Saronic Gulf, Greece WDGilstrap1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr PM Day

Graybehl Heather Evidence for the Production and Distribution of Hellenistic Ceramics from the Northeast Peloponnese at the Panhellenic Sanctuary of Nemea: A Petrographic Study. HLGraybehl1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr PM Day

Dr Jane Rempel

Green Kelly Constructing masculintiy through feasting in Late Medieval England: a case study of the distribution and use of face jugs in Yorkshire, 1350-1500 AD emb07kg@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof Dawn Hadley

Harvey Linzi Dental health, diet and life history in medieval York prp09lh@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Pia Nystrom

Hatton Andrew Stowe farm: A multi-period archaeological site in its landscape prp11ah@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Robert Johnston

Haywood Rebecca pra08rkh@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Kuykendall

Heyerdahl-King Isabelle Middle Pleistocene hominin evolution prp09ish@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Kuykendall

Howsam Charlotte Book fittings and fixtures; an archaeology of medieval literacy clhowsam1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Huggon Martin The Medieval Hospitals of England and Wales pra04mh@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Kaldre Helena Prehistoric field systems in West Estonia: sustainability and human-environmental relationship in agricultural land-use prp12hk@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Robert Johnston

Kazantzis Giorgos Animal Exploitation during the Late Neolithic in the Strymon (Struma) valley: the case of the Greek sector g.kazantzis@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Umberto Albarella

Lawrence Lucy LLawrence1@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Paul Halstead

Lisowski Mikolaj The Identification of Jewish Patterns of Food Preparation and Consumption: a Zooarchaeological Approach to the Medieval and Early Modern Evidence from Central-Eastern Europe MLisowski1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr U Albarella

Longford Catherine The archaeobotany of Sos Hoyuk, Turkey prp10cjl@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Glynis Jones

Martin Gemma Functional attributes as a tool for understanding the process of crop domestication GLMartin1@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Glynis Jones

Massey Freya Ritual practices and special deposits in vernacular housing of the post-medieval period prp10frm@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Massey Stacey prp08sam@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Kuykendall

Mattison Alyxandra The political and religious context of judicial punishment in early medieval England, focusing on transition in execution practice and ideology from the ninth through twelfth centuries a.mattison@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof Dawn Hadley

McIntyre Lauren analysis of the complete archive of human skeletal remains from Roman York, in order to assess the demography, diet, and state of health of the population l.j.mcintyre@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Dawn Hadley

Mentesana Roberta Early Bronze Age Pottery Production at Phaistos, Crete r.mentesana@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr PM Day

Mogg Jonquil Refining locomotory style in the fossil record prp10jam@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Kuykendall

Moutafi Ionna Bioarchaeological analysis of a Mycenean cemetry from Achaea I.Moutafi@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Pia Nystrom

Oleman-Grace Kinsey Palaeoanthropology: Variation and distribution in homo erectus prp10klo@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Kuykendall

Pitman Derek Middle Bronze Age mining and metallurgy in central Eurasia prp09dsp@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Roger Doonan

Plumer Hannah HMPlumer1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Pia Nystrom

Poland Ged A methodological approach to the identification of duck and goose remains from archaeological sites with an application to Roman Britain JGPoland1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr U Albarella

Poyer Andrew The landscape setting of Bronze Age metalwork deposits in NE England and the Scottish Borders prp08ajp@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr RA Johnston

Salvagno Lenny The neglected goat: a methodological approach to the understanding of the role of this species in English medieval husbandry l.salvagno@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Umberto Albarella

Seymour Lorraine Technology, chronology & archaeology: the history and transformation of Bronze Age Dartmoor prp05les@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor John Barrett

Sites Rachel The impact of shifting exchange patterns on domestic architecture toward the close of the Bronze Age prp10rls@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor John Barrett

Slater Jessica Envaluing past practice: metal production in first millennium BC Britain j.slater@shef.ac.uk

Dr Roger Doonan

Stein Samantha The geoarchaeology and micromorphology of Viking and Anglo-Saxon occupation sequences SStein1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr G Ayala

Strati Valasia VStrati1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Pia Nystrom

Thorpe Nicola Evaluating the Future for Grey Literature Publications N.Thorpe@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor John Barrett

Townend Peter An Archaeological Study of the Monastic Order of the Gilbertines p.townend@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Trentacoste Angela The Etruscans and their animals: the zooarchaeology of Forcello di Bagnolo San Vito, (Mantova) Italy a.trentacoste@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Umberto Albarella

Vaessen Rik The tradition of the Ionian migration reconsidered from an interdisciplinary point of view prp08rav@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Sue Sherratt

Velasquez Sánchez-Hidalgo Verónica Maiolica and the construction of ideology in New Spain prp09vv@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Hugh Willmott

Vollono Giulia Constructing identity in Lombard Italy GVollono1@sheffield.ac.uk

Prof John Moreland

Wang Kuan-Wen Cultural and Socio-Economic Interaction Reflected by Glass Beads in Early Iron Age Taiwan kw.wang@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr CM Jackson

Wright Elizabeth The history of the European aurochs from the late Pleistocene to its extinction: an archaeological investigation of its evolution, morphological variability and response to human exploitation e.wright@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Umberto Albarella