The University of Sheffield
Geography Undergraduate Student Handbook

Departmental staff (with their teaching and research interests)

Head of Department
Name Research interests Email
Professor Jean Grugel development, democratisation, human rights for children J.B.Grugel@Sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top
Tutor for Undergraduate Studies
Name Research interests Email
Dr Darrel Swift glacial hydrology, landscape change D.A.Swift@Sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top
Teaching Staff
Name Research interests Email
Dr Dimitris Ballas GIS, economic geography, spatial impacts of public policy D.Ballas@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Mark Bateman Quaternary environments, luminescence dating M.D.Bateman@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Grant Bigg climate change, oceonography, modelling Grant.Bigg@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Megan Blake local economic development M.Blake@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Rob Bryant remote sensing applications, drylands R.G.Bryant@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Chris Clark remote sensing, ice sheets, glacial geomorphology C.Clark@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Jess Dubow politics of body and spatiality, cultural geography J.Dubow@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Jean Grugel development, democratisation, human rights for children J.B.Grugel@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Hammett urban space, geopolitics, citizenship, South Africa, geographies of education D.Hammett@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Edward Hanna climate change, polar ice, meteorology E.Hanna@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Hodson cold regions hydrology, water quality, glaciology A.J.Hodson@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Peter Jackson social and cultural geography, race and racism P.A.Jackson@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Julie Jones climate change, palaeoclimate Julie.Jones@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Andrew McGonigle remote sensing, climate change, environmental modelling A.McGonigle@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Helen Moggridge biogeomorphology, hydroecology, ecosystem services  H.L.Moggridge@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Felix Ng glaciolgical modelling F.Ng@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Eric Olund governmentality, visual culture of modern cities, sexuality E.Olund@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Tony Parsons geomorphology of drylands A.J.Parsons@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Charles Pattie electoral geography, urban politics, public policy C.Pattie@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Richard Phillips postcolonial geographies; gender and sexuality; cultural geographies R.Phillips@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Tom Smith T.Smith@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Sole Greenland ice sheet dynamics A.Sole@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Deborah Sporton population, demography, immigrant communities, development D.Sporton@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Darrel Swift glacial hydrology, landscape change D.A.Swift@Sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Luke Temple geopolitics, citizenship,democratization, socio-spatial inequalities L.Temple@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Chasca Twyman society, environment and development, especially in Africa C.Twyman@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Dan Vickers Social segregation, social and spatial inequalities, clustering D.Vickers@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Matt Watson social and cultural geographies, consumption and sustainability M.Watson@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Paul White migration, Europe, urban and social geography P.White@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Adam Whitworth deprivation, crime, gender and families Adam.Whitworth@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Stephen Wise geographical information systems, hillslopes, computing S.Wise@Sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

For information on Administrative, Technical and Research Staff, see the Staff section on the main Geography website