Microbiology

microbiologybanner

An understanding of the fundamental principles governing the life of bacteria, fungi and yeast provides a framework for new methods of control and exploitation. In particular, pathogenic bacteria are a major killer and cause of human suffering around the world. The epidemic spread of antibiotic resistance makes the development of novel drug targets and vaccines of crucial importance.

Microbial research in our department at a glance:

  • Molecular physiology - all aspects of the life cycle; gene expression, complex assembly, signalling pathways, metabolism, replication, enzymology
  • Molecular pathogenicity - the fundamentals of infection; host colonisation, virulence factors, chemotaxis, cell-surface structure, sporulation
  • Environmental microbiology - microbial processes in the environment; extremophiles, bioremediation, photosynthetic bacteria, fermentation, biofuels

For further information and research opportunities, please see the staff page of individual researchers below:


bakerp

Dr Patrick Baker

Director Of Studies and Deputy Head of Department

Room: D5e/D14a
0114 222 2725
p.baker@sheffield.ac.uk

Use of protein crystallography to study the structure/function relationships in biological macromolecules, including substrate specificity and chiral synthesis in enzymes and the molecular basis of stability in proteins from extremophiles.


Julien Bergeron

Dr Julien Bergeron

starts spring 2017
j.bergeron@sheffield.ac.uk

Structural studies of bacterial nano-machines, in particular the bacterial flagellum, the bacterial cytoskeleton, and the T3SS injectisome. Hybrid methods for structural characterisation, using EM, X-ray, NMR and computer modelling.


bulloughp

Prof Per Bullough

Room: E36e
0114 222 4245
p.bullough@sheffield.ac.uk

Solving the assembly and structure of large and challenging protein assemblies by high resolution electron microscopy (cryoEM) and X-ray crystallography, in particular bacterial endospores, cell surfaces and membrane protein complexes.


chaudhurir

Dr Roy Chaudhuri

Room: B112
0114 222 2837
r.chaudhuri@sheffield.ac.uk

Functional and comparative genomics of bacteria, particularly E. coli and Salmonella. Development of methods for analysing data derived from transposon mutagenesis screens such as TraDIS. Development of user-friendly web interfaces for bacterial genomics.


corriganr

Dr Rebecca Corrigan

Sir Henry Dale Research Fellow

Room: F22a
0114 222 4238
r.corrigan@sheffield.ac.uk

Nucleotide signalling systems in the Gram-positive pathogen Staphylococcus aureus, with a particular interest in mapping the (p)ppGpp signalling networks that influence S. aureus persistence and recurrence of infection.

SelfPhD


faganr

Dr Robert Fagan

Room: F25a
0114 222 4182
r.fagan@sheffield.ac.uk

S-layer and host interaction of Clostridium difficile: a spore-forming, anaerobic, Gram-positive bacterium which causes severe disease in patients following antibiotic treatment for unrelated infections.

SelfPhDFundedPhD


Andrew Fenton

Dr Andrew Fenton

Room: F15b

a.k.fenton@sheffield.ac.uk

Research interests: cell wall biogenesis pathways in the human pathogen Streptococcus pneumoniae.


fosters

Prof Simon Foster

Room: F18a
0114 222 4411
s.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial cell wall structure, function and dynamics in the stress resistance and pathogenesis of the frequently hospital-acquired, multi-antibiotic resistant Gram-positive bacteria Staphylococcus aureus.

FundedPhD


gilmourj

Dr Jim Gilmour

Room: F3a
0114 222 4412
d.j.gilmour@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular biology of life in extreme environments, especially high salinity and low temperature environments. Bioremediation of polluted groundwater systems. Use of microalgae to produce sustainable biofuels.

SelfPhD


greenj

Prof Jeff Green

Room: F10a
0114 222 4403
jeff.green@sheffield.ac.uk

The regulation of bacterial transcription in response to changes in oxygen availability, and to oxidative and nitrosative stress; iron-sulphur proteins as regulators; role of CRP-FNR family transcription factors in bacterial stress responses.

SelfPhD


hoiczyke

Dr Egbert Hoiczyk

Room: F21
0114 222 2733
e.hoiczyk@sheffield.ac.uk

Using light and electron microscopy to study the structure and function of bacterial ultra-structure. Particular interest in bacterial cytoskeletons, gliding motility complexes and nano-organelles.

SelfPhD


huntern

Prof Neil Hunter FRS

Krebs Chair in Biochemistry

Room: E14a
0114 222 4191
c.n.hunter@sheffield.ac.uk

Biogenesis, structure, function and nanotechnology of photosynthetic membrane proteins from phototrophic bacteria and plants. Enzymology of the chlorophyll and carotenoid biosynthesis pathways.

FundedPhD


hwangl

Dr Ling Chin Hwang

Room: E10
0114 222 2847
l.hwang@sheffield.ac.uk

Multidisciplinary techniques such as single-molecule imaging, synthetic biology, biochemistry and microfluidics to study the molecular mechanisms of spatial organization in bacteria, such as cell division and chromosome segregation.


kellyd

Prof Dave Kelly

Room: F1a
0114 222 4414
d.kelly@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular physiology and pathogenicity of the food-borne human pathogen Campylobacter jejuni. Transport and metabolic pathways in the versatile phototrophic purple bacterium Rhodopseudomonas palustris.

SelfPhDFundedPhD


mesnages

Dr St├ęphane Mesnage

Room: F22b
0114 222 4405
s.mesnage@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial cell wall organisation of the Gram-positive pathogens Enterococcus faecalis and Staphylococcus aureus, including cell-surface interactions and peptidoglycan layer dynamics.

SelfPhD


partridgel

Dr Lynda Partridge

Room: E7a
0114 222 4185
l.partridge@sheffield.ac.uk

Human leucocyte antigens, specifically the structure and function of tetraspanins, a conserved family of mammalian transmembrane proteins. Role of tetraspanins in bacterial infection. Monoclonal antibody technology for research and medicine.

SelfPhD


pooler

Prof Robert Poole

FRSB FRSC
West Riding Chair in Microbiology

Room: F15a
0114 222 4447
r.poole@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial physiology, in particular respiration, nitric oxide metabolism and oxidative stress in Escherichia coli. Respiratory pathways, globins and metal transport. Antibiotics and novel antimicrobials, especially CO-releasing molecules.


sudberyp

Prof Peter Sudbery

Roper Chair in Genetics

Room: E18b
0114 222 6186
p.sudbery@sheffield.ac.uk

The molecular and cellular biology of hyphal and pseudohyphal morphogenesis in the human fungal pathogen Candida albicans, the cause of thrush and candidiasis: a lethal infection common in immuno-compromised patients.


CTurnerDr Claire Turner

Room: F15b
0114 222 2819
c.e.turner@sheffield.ac.uk

Understanding the mechanisms behind upsurges in disease caused by the human pathogen Streptococcus pyogenes (also known as group A Streptococcus).

FundedPhD


wainwrightm

Dr Milton Wainwright

Room: G11
0114 222 4410
m.wainwright@sheffield.ac.uk

Isolation of microorganisms from the stratosphere; mainly in relation to the theory of neopanspermia, i.e. the view that microbes are currently arriving on Earth from space.