The University of Sheffield
Department of Oncology
Department Of Oncology

About Us

The Department of Oncology was created in 2008, and is home to a total of 38 academic, clinical and research faculty. The Department is led by Professor Malcolm Reed and comprises eight collaborative academic units, including the Yorkshire Cancer Research (YCR) Institute for Cancer Studies. Our scientists include 10 independent research fellows, 43 postdoctoral research scientists and 110 support staff who, together, form a dedicated network of cancer specialists. We are actively engaged in graduate and postgraduate teaching and research and host more than 100 PhD/MD and MSc/BmedSci candidates for the duration of their studies. We are based at The University of Sheffield Medical School and at the Weston Park Hospital.


The Department of Oncology provides a dynamic, exciting research environment with an internationally important portfolio of basic, clinical and translational cancer research. We receive substantial competitive funding from all the major research bodies and charities, including major contributions from Cancer Research UK and Yorkshire Cancer Research. Our scientists are engaged at the cutting-edge of oncology research, and their findings are disseminated through publication in a wide range of national and international forums. Our major areas of interest are genome stability, the cell cycle and signal transduction, tumour vascularisation and microenvironment and bone oncology. We have major research programmes in breast, urological and haematological oncology. Our collaborators include scientists in Sheffield, the UK and across the international scientific communities.

Academic Units

Research in the Department is undertaken by eight Academic Units:


"Bridging the gap in treatment for older women with breast cancer".

Sheffield researchers are investigating ways to improve treatment and survival rate of elderly patients diagnosed with breast cancer.  For further information, please click here.

This paper/abstract/presentation/poster* presents independent research funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) under its Programme Grants for Applied Research Programme (Grant Reference Number RP-PG-1209-10071).  The views expressed are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of the NHS, the NIHR or the Department of Health.

Sheffield Cancer Research Centre

We are pleased to announce the launch of the new Sheffield Cancer Research Centre website.  

CRUK New Logo

Breast Cancer Campaign's Research

Breast Cancer Campaign