Talk to us about sustainability


At Sheffield, we recognise that sustainable development cannot be adequately addressed by a single individual or team working in isolation. These complex problems span many areas of our operations and require a holistic approach to overcome.

Our sustainability strategy and delivery teams are made up of senior figures from across the University who are empowered to organise, resource and deliver cross-cutting sustainability projects.

We have designated sustainability leads for professional services, academic departments and students; a three-pillared structure designed to recognise the importance of all parts of our University community in addressing sustainability challenges.

This structure is overseen and represented on the University’s Executive Board by our Chief Operating Officer.

Andrew Dodman

University Executive Board Sustainability Sponsor

Chief Operating Officer
Chair of the Sustainability Steering Group

Andy Dodman

Tracy Wray

Sustainability Lead for Professional Services

Tracy Wray

Director of Human Resources and Corporate Communications
Co-Chair of the Sustainability Delivery Group
Email: t.wray@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2221600

Professor Duncan Cameron

Sustainability Lead for Academic Departments

Duncan Cameron

Director of P3
Co-Chair of the Sustainability Delivery Group
Email: d.cameron@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2220066

Mel Kee

Sustainability Lead for Students


Mel Kee

Students' Union Development Officer
Email: development.officer@sheffield.ac.uk


Keith Lilley

Director of Estates and Facilities Management
Email: keith.lilley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 9200

Dr Sarah Want

Director of Partnerships and Regional Engagement
Email: sarah.want@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2221445

Professor Vanessa Toulmin

Director of City and Culture
Email: v.toulmin@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2220562

Professor Brendan Stone

Deputy Vice-President for Education
Email: b.stone@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 8495

Stephanie Holmes-Fletcher

Head of Procurement
Email: s.e.holmesfletcher@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 01142 222175

Gavin Brown

Head of Commercial Services
Email: g.a.brown@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 8990

Phil Riley

Energy Manager
Email: p.j.riley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 9213

Charlotte Winnert

Environment Officer
Email: c.l.winnert@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 9083

James Merrylees

External Relations Manager
Email: j.merrylees@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 0565

William Mai

President of the Students’ Union’s Sustainability Committee
Email: sustcom@sheffield.ac.uk

Theresa Nelson

Grantham Centre Scholar
Lead Scholar for the Sustainability Strategy Audit

Deborah Beck

Grantham Centre Scholarship Programme Manager
Email: d.beck@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 0070

Tim Allen

Students' Union Sustainability Coordinator
Email: t.r.allen@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 8567

Josh Barnes

Research and Policy Officer
Secretary to the Sustainability Steering and Delivery Groups
Email: josh.barnes@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 222 8898