Sir Henry Stephenson Building
The Sir Henry Stephenson Building houses lecture theatres, seminar rooms, laboratories and office space for Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering PhD and undergraduate students.
Although it's primarily a space for ACSE PhD students to complete their research, most ACSE students may find they have seminars or lectures in this building at some point in their studies.
The building comprises three lecture theatres, four laboratories, seminar rooms and office space.
History of the building
The £1.5million building was completed in 1988 as part of the Faculty of Engineering’s expansion of the (what was then) 'Control Engineering' and the Electronic and Electrical Engineering departments and was cohabited by both departments.
The building was named after the British Liberal politician Sir Henry Kenyon Stephenson, who had served as Pro-Vice-Chancellor at the University of Sheffield in 1910. Sir Henry Stephenson’s great-grandson, Mr Timothy Stephenson, opened the building.
Our department offers financial assistance in the form of scholarships and bursaries, in addition to the scholarships offered by the University of Sheffield.
A world-class university – a unique student experience
Sheffield is a research university with a global reputation for excellence. We're a member of the Russell Group: one of the 24 leading UK universities for research and teaching.