16 January 2008

Alumni honoured in New Year’s Honours list

We´d like to congratulate the following alumni who were recently named in the Queen´s New Year´s Honours List 2008:

Knights Bachelor
Professor John Stewart Savill (MBCHB in Medicine). Professor of Experimental Medicine, Head of the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, and Vice-Principal, University of Edinburgh. For services to Clinical Science.

CB (Order of the Bath)
Dr. Vanessa Vivienne Lawrence (BA in Geography & Hon DSc). Director General and Chief Executive, Ordnance Survey.

DBE (Order of the British Empire)
Ms Fiona Claire Reynolds, C.B.E (Hon DLitt). Director-General, National Trust. For services to Heritage and to Conservation.

CBE (Order of the British Empire)
Miss Susan Lewis (DipEd in Education). Her Majesty´s Chief Inspector of Education and Training in Wales. For services to Education.

Mrs Stella Mbubaegbu (MEd in Education). Principal and Chief Executive, Highbury College, Portsmouth and Chair, Black Leadership Initiative. For services to Further Education.

Dr. Brian Woods-Scawen, D.L. (BA in Philosophy & Politics). For services to Business and to the community in the West Midlands.

OBE (Order of the British Empire)
Professor Rajvinder Singh Kandola (MA in Psychology). Member, National Employment Panel. For services to Disadvantaged People and to Diversity.

John Keith Thorpe (MA in Town & Regional Planning). Grade 7, Cities and Urban Policy Division, Department for Communities and Local Government.

Michael Roy Waterland (BSc in Maths). Chair, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Healthcare in the West Midlands and the South East.

MBE (Order of the British Empire)
David Wadkin (MEd in Education). Vice-Chair of Governors, Oakwood Technology College, Rotherham. For services to Education.

MBE (Overseas list)
Ms Helen Marie Vipass (PGCE in Education). For charitable services to families and children in crisis in Latvia.