Alumni in 2013 Queen's New Year's Honours List

We’d like to congratulate the following alumni and and honorary graduates who were honoured in the 2013 Queen’s New Year's Honours List:

OBE (Officer of the Order of the British Empire)
Mr Stephen Glass, OBE (BEng Mechanical Engineering, 1992). Grade 6, Ministry of Defence. For services to defence equipment acquisition
Mr Nicholas Nicolaou, OBE (BA Business Studies, 1977). Lately Chief Executive Officer, HSBC Sri Lanka and the Maldives, Colombo, Sri Lanka. For services to promoting British business interests, arts, education and the English language in Sri Lanka. Diplomatic Service and Overseas list
Dr Cynthia Sughrue, OBE, FRSA (PhD English Language, 1993). Chief Executive Officer and Executive Producer, Scottish Ballet. For services to dance
Mrs Allison Tennant, OBE (PG Dip Clinical Supervision, 2005). Nurse Consultant, Peaks Unit, Rampton Hospital. For services to offender health
Mrs Charlotte Triggs, OBE (LLB Law, 1977). Senior Policy Adviser, Crown Prosecution Service. For services to law and order especially prosecution of rape cases
Professor John Warner, OBE, FRCP (MBChb Medicine, 1968; MD Medicine, 1979). Lately member, Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes. For services to food allergy research

MBE (Member of the Order of the British Empire)
Dr Joanne Harris, MBE (PGCE Education, 1987; Hon LittD, 2004). Author. For services to literature
Mr Simon Marsh, MBE (MA Town & Regional Planning, 1989). Member, National Planning Policy Framework Practitioners Advisory Group. For services to local government and to communities in the UK
Mr David Truesdale, MBE (MA Town & Regional Planning, 1977). Co-Founder, Leys Community Development Initiative, Oxford. For services to the community in Oxford

Read more latest news.