Seminars

Scheduled seminars in APS are listed below. Everyone is welcome to attend any of the seminars, but the seminar series differ a little in their focus as indicated below.

Every effort is made to keep to the scheduled programme, but changes do have to be made sometimes. Please look out for posters in the Department, or notices on the APS home page for any late alterations.

  • Departmental seminars: aimed everyone in the Dept, and anyone outside who might be interested
  • Research Group seminars: two seminar series (Ecology, Evolution and Environment & Plant Science) usually on current research work, by both internal and external speakers.
  • Graduate Seminars: current postgraduate students presenting their own research work. Usually two shorter seminars together.

APS seminars can be added to your Google Calendar by using the following URL:
www.google.com/calendar/ical/sheffield.ac.uk_1k6e1861e1i5qp5d84fshacf94%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics
Alternatively, you can view the seminars in a web page calendar if you don't use Google Calendar.


Date Series Title Speaker Venue and time
Thursday 14th September 2017 Departmental Effective and evolutionarily robust infection control Sam Brown Georgia Institute of Technology APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Wednesday 27th September 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment The impact of early chronic stress across generations in mice
Katharina Gapp from Sanger Institute Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 2nd October 2017 Departmental Sexual arms races: Testing the alternatives Jen Perry University of Oxford Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 9th October 2017 Departmental Ecological communities: accidents of history or ecologically preordained?

Alex Pigot University college London

Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Wednesday 11th October Ecology, Evolution and Environment A sex linked supergene controls sperm morphology and swimming speed in a songbird
Kang- Wook Kim University of Sheffield APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Monday 16th October 2017 Departmental Cultural legacies: social and cognitive factors underlying the inter-generational transmission of foraging behaviour in birds Lucy Alpin Max Planck Institute for Ornithology Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 23rd October 2017 Departmental The genomic causes and consequences of sexual conflict in guppies Judith Mank University College of London Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Wednesday 25th October 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment Investigating the effects of the UK’s first community-led, fully protected marine reserve Leigh Howarth, University of Sheffield Firth Court Lecture Theatre 2 at 1pm
Monday 30th October 2017 Departmental Sex in pathogens: When, where & why? Anna-Liisa Laine University of Helsinki Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Tuesday 31st October 2017 RHI TBC Michael Chester, Kew Botanic Gardens F2 Lecture Theatre at 1pm
Wednesday 1st November 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment TBC Ellie Harrison, University of Sheffield APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Monday 6th November 2017 Departmental Understanding the ecology and rapid evolution in the rhizosphere - implications for plant disease biocontrol Ville Friman University of York Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Wednesday 8th November 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment The geography of plant vulnerability under global environmental changes Ana Cergo Trinity College Dublin APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Monday 13th November 2017 Departmental Developmental evolution of the animal face: from principles to mechanisms Arkhat Abzhanov Imperial College of London Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Tuesday 14th November 2017 RHI Evolution of sex chromosomes in plants (+some other projects) Dmitry Filatov, Oxford University F2 Lecture Theatre at 1pm
Wednesday 15th November Ecology, Evolution and Environment TBC Iain Scott Edinburgh College of Art APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Monday 20th November 2017 Departmental Doing more for less: the value of Citizen Science Adam Hart University of Gloucestershire Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Wednesday 22nd November 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment TBC
Irem Sepil Grey Institute of Field Ornithology APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Monday 27th November 2017 Departmental Major transitions in the mating behaviour of plants John Pannell University of Lausanne Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Wednesday 29th November 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment TBC Mark Ravinet University of Gothenburg APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Monday 4th December 2017 Departmental Feeding the world without costing the Earth Andrew Balmford University of Cambridge Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Wednesday 6th December Ecology, Evolution and Environment TBC Hannes Becher Queen Mary University of London APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Monday 11th December 2017 Departmental How behaviour changes evolution: experiments with burying beetles Rebecca Kilner Universsity of Cambridge Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Wednesday 13th December 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment TBC John Davey University of Warwick APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Wednesday 20th December 2017 Ecology, Evolution and Environment TBC Petri Kemppainen University of Helsinki APS Common Room, Alfred Denny Building D219 at 1pm
Thursday 25th January 2018 RHI Emerging models on the regulation of plasmodesmata transport Yoselin Benitez Alfonso University of Leeds F2 Lecture Theatre at 1 pm
Monday 5th February 2018 Departmental TBC Sally Keith University of Lancaster Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 12th February 2018 Deparmental TBC Gert Stulp University of Groningen Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Tuesday 13th February 2018 RHI TBC Cyril Zipfel, The Sainsbury Laboratory, Norwich Alfred Denny Conference Room at 1pm
Monday 19th February 2018 Departmental TBC Stephen Long University of Illinois Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 26th February 2018 Departmental TBC Lynne Boddy University of Cardiff Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 5th March 2018 Departmental TBC Christina Hicks University of Lancaster Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 12th March 2018 Departmental TBC Sarah Batterman University of Leeds Alfred Denny Lecture Theatre 1 at 1pm
Tuesday 24th April 2018 RHI TBC Christine Faulkner The John Innes Centre Alfred Denny Conference Room (A02) at 2 pm
Monday 30th April 2018 Departmental TBC Amanda Bretman University of Leeds Alfred Denny Lecture Thatre 1 at 1pm
Monday 14th May 2018 Departmental TBC Kayla King University of Oxford Alfred Denny Lecture Thatre 1 at 1pm