Academic Practice and Skills Development (APSD)

Academic Practice and Skills Development brings together teams who support students and academics to develop skills and enhance their pedagogical practice.

Use the links below to find out more about each team:

  • Academic skills team (301) - Providing face-to-face and online opportunities for all students to develop the academic skills that underpin their learning at university, including assessment literacy, maths and statistics help and research skills. Based at 301 Academic Skills Centre. 
  • Academic professional development team - Supporting academic development through accreditation schemes for professional recognition, award bearing programmes, training and events, and teaching for teachers.
  • Digital learning team - Promoting and facilitates the use of digital technologies in teaching practice.
  • Learning and teaching enhancement team - Providing online resources, workshops and other events to support the development of staff who teach. 

Amy JeffriesAmy Jeffries photo 125x125

Head of Academic Practice and Skills Development

T: 0114 222 9740

E: a.e.jeffries@sheffield.ac.uk

PA: April Dawson

T: 0114 222 0401

E: a.dawson@sheffield.ac.uk

Admin support: Steven Rowley

T: 0114 222 0402

E: steven.rowley@sheffield.ac.uk


Academic Professional Development

We support the development of teaching practice by:

  • Helping colleagues to gain recognition through our internal HEA-accredited Learning and Teaching Professional Recognition Scheme (LTPRS), and overseeing institutional and national awards (eg Senate Awards, National Teaching Fellowships, Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence)
  • Teaching formal credit-bearing programmes and workshops (eg PGCertTLHE, STA)
  • Coordinating the Elevate mentoring scheme across the institution

Support for new teaching staff

Senate Awards for Excellence

Peer support and mentoring

Sarah MooreSarah Moore headshot

Academic Professional Development Manager

T: 0114 222 1753

E: sarah.moore@sheffield.ac.uk

Kate RichardsonKate Richardson 125x125

Academic Professional Development Adviser

T: 0114 222 1351

E: k.m.richardson@sheffield.ac.uk

Sarah PlumbSarah Plumb Portrait 125x125

Academic Professional Development Adviser

T: 0114 222 0423

E: sarah.plumb@sheffield.ac.uk

Andy Stork

Academic Professional Development Adviser

T: 0114 222 0410

E: a.stork@sheffield.ac.uk

Liz TaylorLiz Taylor 125x125

Academic Professional Development Officer

T:  0114 222 0409

E: e.a.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk

Naomi Rowland

Academic Professional Development Officer

T: 0114 222 0409

E: n.rowland@sheffield.ac.uk


Academic Skills (301)

The Academic skills team provides a range of opportunities for students from all disciplines and all levels of study to develop their academic skills. Based at 301 Academic Skills Centre this team:

  • Provide academic skills workshops, 1:1 study skills tutorials and online resources for students in areas including academic writing, study techniques and assessment skills
  • Provide a Maths and Statistics Help Service (MASH) including workshops, 1:1 appointments, drop-ins ad online resources
  • Administer the Sheffield Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE), providing undergraduate students with an opportunity to develop their research skills
  • Facilitate Peer Assisted Study Sessions (PASS) for cohorts of students in a number of departments
  • Work with departments to support the embedding of academic skills into programmes of study

Visit the 301 Academic Skills Centre homepage

301: Info for staff

Vacant

Academic Skills Manager

Jennifer FreemanJenny Freeman photo 125x125

MASH Manager

T: +44 114 222 1749

E: j.v.freeman@sheffield.ac.uk

Marta EmmettMarta Emmet 125x125

Academic Skills Adviser (MASH)

T: +44 114 222 1745

E: m.emmett@sheffield.ac.uk

Leanne Ingram

Academic Skills Adviser

T: +44 114 222 9741

E: leanne.ingram@sheffield.ac.uk

Oliver JohnsonOli Johnson Profile 125x125

Academic Skills Adviser

T: +44 114 222 1350

E: o.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk

Basile MarquierBasile Marquier 125x125

Academic Skills Adviser (MASH)

T: +44 114 222 1745

E: b.marquier@sheffield.ac.uk

Tracy Mayes

Academic Skills Adviser

T: +44 114 222 5331

E: t.mayes@sheffield.ac.uk

Ben McGovernBen McGovern photo 125x125

Academic Skills Adviser (MASH)

T: +44 114 222 3608

E: b.j.mcgovern@sheffield.ac.uk

vacant

Skills Development Coordinator

T: +44 114 222 1320

E:

Chloe-Jade Simmons Chloe-Jade-Simmons125x125

Senior Administrator (mat cover for Amy Mollekin)

T: +44 114 222 1379

E: c.simmons@sheffield.ac.uk

Amy Mollekin 

Senior Administrator (on mat leave)

T: +44 114 222 1379

E: a.mollekin@sheffield.ac.uk

Bernadette DalesBernadette Dales 125x125

Administrator

T: +44 114 222 9742

E: bernadette.dales@sheffield.ac.uk

Laura Crabtree

Administrator (Academic Skills)

T: 0114 222 9743

E: l.a.crabtree@sheffield.ac.uk


Digital Learning

The Digital Learning team promotes and facilitates the use of digital technologies in teaching practice. Together, this team:

  • Provides practical support for staff using digital technologies as part of their teaching and assessment e.g. Turnitin, VLE
  • Supports academic departments to embed technologies into programmes, via blended learning and online delivery
  • Works with academics to create cutting edge educational content for open online learning

Training and events

Online learning

Kaltura digital media hub

Farzana Latif Farzana Latif 125x125

Digital Learning Manager

T: 0114 222 1168

E: farzana.latif@sheffield.ac.uk

Layla CrollLayla Croll 125x125

Senior Learning Technologist/ Production Manager

T: 0114 222 0412

E: l.croll@sheffield.ac.uk

Dave HollowayDavid Holloway 125x125

Senior Learning Technologist/ Production Manager

T: 0114 222 0421

E: d.holloway@sheffield.ac.uk

Graham McElearneyGraham MacElearney photo 125x125

Senior Learning Technologist/ Production Manager

T: 0114 222 3040

E: g.mcelearney@sheffield.ac.uk

Danny MonaghanDanny Monaghan 125x125

Senior Learning Technologist/ Production Manager

T: 0114 222 0403

E: d.monaghan@sheffield.ac.uk

Laura GilesLaura Giles 125x125

Learning Technologist/ Digital Media Producer

T: 0114 222 0422

E: l.giles@sheffield.ac.uk

Thomas JolleyTom Jolley 125x125

Learning Technologist/ Digital Media Producer

T: 0114 222 1138

E: t.jolley@sheffield.ac.uk

Pete MellaPete Mella 125x125

Learning Technologist/ Digital Media Producer

T: 0114 222 0429

E: p.mella@sheffield.ac.uk

Tom FosterTom Foster 125x125

Learning Technologist/ Digital Media Producer

T: 0114 222 3006

E: tom.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

Chris BlackChris Black 125x125

Learning Technologist/ Digital Media Officer

T: 0114 222 0427

E: c.black@sheffield.ac.uk

Robert Spark

Learning Technologist/Digital Media Officer

T: 0114 222 0413

E: rob.spark@sheffield.ac.uk

Ian MumbyIan Mumby 125x125

Digital Learning Support Officer

T: 0114 222 0400

E: i.mumby@sheffield.ac.uk

Suzy Stephenson (maternity leave)

Senior Administrator

T: 0114 222 1194

E: s.stephenson@sheffield.ac.uk


Learning & Teaching Enhancement

The L&T Enhancement team provides support for all staff to develop their teaching practice. This new team are currently developing a suite of services:

  • Comprehensive and accessible online resources covering a range of topics including assessment and feedback, teaching delivery and course design
  • A programme of workshops and other events to facilitate staff learning with and from others
  • Support for academic teams who require training or guidance on improving teaching practice in their department of faculty

Juliet StoreyJuliet Storey 125x125

Learning and Teaching Enhancement Manager

T: 0114 222 1204

E: j.storey@sheffield.ac.uk

Alison RileyAli Riley head shot

Learning and Teaching Enhancement Adviser

T: 0114 222 4035

E: a.h.riley@sheffield.ac.uk

Anna NibbsAnna Nibbs 125x125

Learning and Teaching Enhancement Adviser (Enterprise)

E: a.nibbs@sheffield.ac.uk

Daniel Morton Daniel Morton 125x125

Learning and Teaching Enhancement Adviser

T: 0114 222 1209

E: d.j.morton@sheffield.ac.uk

Claire Allam

Learning and Teaching Enhancement Adviser

T: 0114 222 0407

E: c.allam@sheffield.ac.uk

Jessica Baily (on mat leave)

Learning and Teaching Enhancement Adviser

T: 0114 222 1209

E: j.baily@sheffield.ac.uk

John Murphy

Senior Administrator (Academic Practice)

T: 0114 222 0405

E: john.murphy@sheffield.ac.uk


Useful links

Elevate: the learning and teaching academy

Support and guidance for academics on professional development and learning and teaching practice.

Elevate your learning

Elevate your practice

Elevate your scholarship

Programme development and enhancement

Online resources to help you develop and deliver your academic programmes.

Digital learning

Setting aims and learning outcomes

Modes of learning

Teaching methods