Department for Lifelong Learning (DLL)

The Department for Lifelong Learning (DLL) is the University’s gateway for mature students who don't have the traditional qualifications required for direct entry to the University.

  • Foundation year study - delivering foundation year pathways into a wide range of degrees across the arts, humanities, social sciences, health and natural sciences.
  • Specially designed courses - equipping mature students with the skills, knowledge and confidence required for degree level study.
  • Support and welfare - providing specialist support and guidance to mature students who have been out of formal education for a number of years.

Visit the Department for Lifelong Learning website


Willy KitchenWilly Kitchen Photo 125x125

Head of Department for Lifelong Learning

T: 0114 222 7021

E: w.kitchen@sheffield.ac.uk


Teaching Staff

Jackie Ferguson

University Tutor: Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7002

E: j.ferguson@sheffield.ac.uk

Rosalyn Ferguson

University Tutor: Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7000

E: rosalyn.ferguson@sheffield.ac.uk

Sarah Hale

Programme Director: Foundation Programme, Humanities & Social Sciences, and Social and Political Studies

T: 0114 222 7048

E: s.hale@sheffield.ac.uk

Olivia Harrison

Programme Director: L1 Arts & Humanities

T: 0114 222 7116

E: o.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk

Camilla Priede

Programme Director: BSc Natural & Human Environments, Foundation Science, L1 Social Science

T:  0114 222 7091

E: c.priede@sheffield.ac.uk

Rachel Staddon

University Tutor: Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7004

E: r.v.staddon@sheffield.ac.uk

Lyndsay Stanton

University Tutor: Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7011

E: l.stanton@sheffield.ac.uk

Ros Tratt

University Tutor: Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7007

E: ros.tratt@sheffield.ac.uk

David Vessey

University Tutor: Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7009

E: d.vessey@sheffield.ac.uk

Anthony Warde

University Tutor:Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7010

E: anthony.warde@sheffield.ac.uk

Chris Brown

University Tutor: Foundation Programme

T: 0114 222 7014

E: chris.brown@sheffield.ac.uk


Marketing & Outreach

Louise Ritchie

Community Outreach Manager

T: 0114 222 8121

E: l.e.ritchie@sheffield.ac.uk

Helen Roy

Marketing and External Relations Manager

T: 0114 222 7033

E: h.roy@sheffield.ac.uk

Charlotte Mynett

Outreach and Recruitment Administrative Officer

T: 0114 222 7045

E: m.emmett@sheffield.ac.uk


Student Support and Welfare

Maria Baldam

Student Support & Welfare Assistant

T: 0114 222 7023

E: m.baldam@sheffield.ac.uk

Alex Berry

Student Support Manager

T: 0114 222 7026

E: alex.berry@sheffield.ac.uk

Christine Cleaver

Student Support Manager

T: 0114 222 7026

E: c.cleaver@sheffield.ac.uk


Admin team

Claire Ferguson

Departmental Manager

T: 0114 222 7024

E: claire.ferguson@sheffield.ac.uk

Simon Stewart

Senior Administrative Officer

T: 0114 222 7018

E: simon.stewart@sheffield.ac.uk

Larah Hogg

Administrative Officer

T: 0114 222 7020

E: larah.hogg@sheffield.ac.uk

Fiona Boddy

Administrative Assistant

T: 0114 222 7000

E: f.boddy@sheffield.ac.uk