About us

We are a group of scientists with a broad background not only in mass spectrometry applied to proteomics and metabolomics, but also in biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology. Our specialist facilities enhance our research and are also available to external partners, whether this be the wider academic scientific community, or the industrial and commercial sectors.

As a specialist service, we believe that the more we know about your project and your sample, the better the service we can provide. If you are interested in any forms of project collaboration, please feel free to get in in touch to discuss your requirements. See:

OMICS with us

Our experience covers a wide range of research topics including clinical biomarker research, disease mechanisms and plant metabolism.

Team


Professor Carl Smythe

Professor Carl SmytheDirector and Professor of Cell Biology
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 4643
Email: C.G.W.Smythe@sheffield.ac.uk
Web: http://www.shef.ac.uk/bms/research/csmythe
Twitter: https://twitter.com/carlsmythe

Dr Mark Collins

Dr Mark CollinsDeputy Director, Lecturer in Biological Mass Spectrometry
Expertise: Proteomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 4632
Email: Mark.Collins@sheffield.ac.uk
Web: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/bms/research/collins

Dr Adelina E. Acosta Martin

Dr Adelina E Acosta-MartinFacility Manager
Expertise: Proteomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 4676
Email: A.Acosta-Martin@sheffield.ac.uk
Web: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/bms/research/acosta_martin

Professor Mike Burrell

Professor Mike BurrellProfessor of plant metabolism
Expertise: Metabolomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 0085
Email: M.Burrell@sheffield.ac.uk
Web: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/aps/staff-and-students/associatemembers/burrell

Dr Heather Walker

Dr Heather WalkerFacility Manager
Expertise: Metabolomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 0033
Email: H.J.Walker@sheffield.ac.uk
Web: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/aps/staff-and-students/postdoc/walker

Dr Pierre Petriacq

Dr Pierre PetriacqResearch Associate
Expertise: Metabolomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 0049
Email: P.Petriacq@sheffield.ac.uk
Web: https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/aps/staff-and-students/acadstaff/petriacq

Mrs Gemma Newsome

Gemma NewsomeResearch technician
Expertise: Metabolomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 0098
Email: g.newsome@sheffield.ac.uk

Mr Simon Thorpe

Mr Simon ThorpeTechnical Manager
Expertise: molecular analysis, small molecules
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 9480/1
Email: s.j.thorpe@sheffield.ac.uk
Web: http://ccias.dept.shef.ac.uk/massspec.php

Ms Sharon Spey

Ms Sharon SpeyResearch technician
Expertise: Molecular analysis, small molecules
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 9480
Email: S.E.Spey@sheffield.ac.uk