External and Internal Seminar Programme 2016/2017

The Department of Biomedical Science runs a lively and exciting external and internal departmental seminar programme. Topics presented represent the wide-range of research interests within the department and are presented by experts in particular areas.

Seminars are held on Mondays at 12.00 noon (unless stated) in the Conference Room (room A225), A Floor, Alfred Denny building.

If you have any questions regarding our programme, please contact Wendy Howard.


Monday 15th May 2017

Professor David Lyons
University of Edinburgh

Imaging and screening nervous system formation and repair using zebrafish

Host: Prof Tanya Whitfield


Monday 22nd May 2017

Professor Pierre-François Lenne
The Developmental Biology Institute of Marseille

Shaping cell contacts during tissue morphogenesis

Host: Prof David Strutt


Monday 5th June 2017

Professor Penny Jeggo
University of Sussex

DNA double strand break repair; a precision process or a botched job?

Host: Dr Chun Guo


Monday 12th June 2017

Dr Tilo Kunath
University of Edinburgh

Pluripotent stem cells as a model and therapy for Parkinson’s disease

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 19th June 2017

Prof Ketan Patel
University of Reading

Title to be announced

Host: Prof Steve Winder


Monday 26th June 2017

Dr Evan Reid
Cambridge Institute for Medical Research

Defects in ER-endosome contacts impact lysosome function to cause axonal degeneration

Host: Dr Andrew Peden


Monday 10th July 2017

Dr Richard Hayward
University College London

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Dan Humphreys


TUESDAY 18th July 2017

Dr Diego di Bernardo
TIGEM Naples

A systems and synthetic biology approach reveals the dynamics of the transcriptional network regulated by TFEB

Host: Dr Marta Milo


Monday 31st July 2017

Dr Caren Norden
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden

Formation, Growth and Lamination of the Vertebrate Retina

Host: Prof David Strutt


Programme 2017/2018

Tuesday 26th September 2017

Dr Estee Kurant
University of Haifa, Israel

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Iwan Evans


Monday 23rd October 2017 - Internal Seminars

Dr Ivana Barbaric
Title to be announced

Professor Mikko Juusola
Title to be announced


Monday 13th November 2017

Dr Dominic Norris
MRC Harwell Institute

Cilia, Flow and Polycystins: making a left-right axis

Host: Dr Jarema Malicki


Monday 27th November 2017

Professor Andrea Brand
The Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Martin Zeidler


Monday 4th December 2017

Dr Stefan Barakat
University of Edinburgh

Making sense of Junk: deciphering the role of the non-coding genome in stem cells and models of brain development

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 11th December 2017

Dr Florian Merkle
University of Cambridge

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Ivana Barbaric


Monday 8th January 2018

Dr Pradeepa Madapura
University of Essex

Importance of noncoding RNAs in regulation of HOX genes in development and in cancer

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 15th January 2018

Dr Stephen Tait
University of Glasgow

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Chun Guo