People BMS

People

If telephoning from outside the University, add (0114) 22 before the extension number given. International numbers should add +44 114 22.

For the full telephone directory is available for University of Sheffield Staff and Students, see the University Contact us page.

Registering in BMS (Staff, Students and Visitors)

  • New staff, students and visitors should register with the department's Induction Form. This form can also be used by current staff members wishing to update their contact details.
  • If you are leaving the department, please complete the Outduction Form.

See also:


Academic and Academic-Related

If telephoning from outside the University, add (0114) 22 before the extension number given. International numbers should add +44 114 22.

Professor Peter Andrews

Arthur Jackson Professor of Biomedical Science

Room: E226 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 24173
Email: p.w.andrews@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Peter Andrews

Research theme: Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine; Cell Biology and Cancer; Developmental Biology and Disease

Professor Kathryn Ayscough

Head of Department
Professor of Molecular Cell Biology

Room: B103a Addison building
Extension: 22371
Email: k.ayscough@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Kathryn Ayscough

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Ivana Barbaric

Senior Lecturer in Stem Cell Biology

Room: E225b Alfred Denny building
Extension: 23645
Email: i.barbaric@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Ivana Barbaric

Research theme: Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine

Dr Mark Bass

Lecturer

Room: B2 05 Florey building
Extension: 25278
Email: mark.bass@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Mark Bass

Research themes: Cell Biology and Cancer; Developmental Biology and Disease

Dr Anne-Gaelle-Borycki

Senior Lecturer

Room: D19 Firth court
Extension: 24666
Email: A.G.Borycki@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Anne-Gaelle-Borycki

Research themes: Developmental Biology and Disease; Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine

Dr Stephen Brown

Sheffield RNAi Facility Manager

Room: B2 226 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 23690
Email: stephen.brown@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Stephen Brown

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Lauren Buck

University Teacher

Room: B105 Addison building
Extension: 22391
Email: l.buck@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Lauren Buck

Learning and Teaching roles:

  • Level 1 Tutor
  • Teaching: Human anatomy
Dr Natalia Bulgakova

Lecturer

Room: D43b Firth Court
Extension: 23649
Email: N.Bulgakova@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Natalia Bulgakova

Research themes: Developmental Biology and Disease; Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Jenny Burr

Room: C109 Addison
Extension:
Email: j.a.burr@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Dr Daniela Cacciabue

Associate University Teacher

Room: C107 Addison building
Extension: 21091
Email: D.Cacciabue@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Kyra Campbell

Sir Henry Dale Fellow

Room: D38a Firth Court
Extension: 24690
Email: kyra.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Kyra Campbell

Research theme: Developmental Biology and Disease; Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Mark Collins

Senior Lecturer

Room: E04 Florey building
Extension: 22303
Email: mark.collins@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Mark Collins

Research themes: Neuroscience; Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Gordon Cooper

Senior University Teacher/Exams Officer

Room: B2 222a Alfred Denny building
Extension: 24667
Email: g.j.cooper@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Gordon Cooper

Research theme: Neuroscience
Dr Laura Corns

Associate University Teacher

Room: C107 Addison building
Extension: 22330
Email: l.f.corns@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Dr Laura Corns

Dr Vincent Cunliffe

Senior Lecturer

Room: D18d Firth Court
Extension: 22389
Email: V.T.Cunliffe@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Vincent Cunliffe

Research themes: Developmental Biology and Disease; Neuroscience

Professor Bazbek Davletov

Professor of Biomedical Science

Room: D225 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 25111
Email: b.davletov@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Bazbek Davletov

Research themes: Cell Biology and Cancer; Neuroscience

 Dr Kai Erdmann

Senior Lecturer
Director of Postgraduate Research

Room: Florey E03
Extension: 24698
Email: K.Erdmann@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Kai Erdmann

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Andrew Furley

Professor of Developmental Neuroscience

Room: D18a
Extension: 22354
Email: a.j.furley@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Andrew Furley

Research themes: Developmental Biology and Disease; Neuroscience; Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Paul Gokhale

Associate University Teacher

Room: E223 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 22352
Email: p.gokhale@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor David Grundy

Professor of Biomedical Science

Room: E06a Florey building
Extension: 24657
Email: D.Grundy@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: David Grundy

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer; Neuroscience

Dr Chun Guo

Lecturer

Room: B2 221a Alfred Denny building
Extension: 23648
Email: c.guo@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Chun Guo

Research theme: Neuroscience

Dr Fran Henshaw

Room: C109 Addison
Extension:
Email: F.Henshaw@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Professor Matthew Holley

Emeritus Professor

Email: m.c.holley@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Matthew Holley

Research theme: Neuroscience

Dr Daniel Humphreys

Lecturer

Room: C08 Florey building
Extension: 24632
Email: d.humphreys@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Daniel Humphreys

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Stuart Johnson

Royal Society University Research Fellow

Room: B1 220 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 23692
Email: s.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Stuart Johnson

Research theme: Neuroscience

Professor Mikko Juusola

Professor of Systems Neuroscience

Room: B2 222b Alfred Denny building
Extension: 21087
Email: M.Juusola@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Mikko Juusola

Research theme: Neuroscience

Dr Jason King

Royal Society University Research Fellow

Room: D09 Florey building
Extension: 25116
Email: Jason.King@Sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Jason King

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Andrew Lin

Vice-Chancellor's Fellow
Lecturer

Room: B2 222a  Alfred Denny building
Extension: 23643
Email: Andrew.Lin@Sheffield.ac.uk
Staff homepage: Andrew Lin

Research theme: Neuroscience

Professor Katherine Linehan

Professor of Anatomical Education
Faculty Director for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Room: C105 Addison building
Extension: 22347
Email: k.linehan@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Katherine Linehan

Learning and Teaching roles:

Programme Director for MSc Human Anatomy with Education
Designer and Lead Educator for Mass Open Online Forensics Course: Finding Mr X

Professor Walter Marcotti

Professor of Sensory Neuroscience

Room: B1 221 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 21098
Email: w.marcotti@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Walter Marcotti

Research theme: Neuroscience

Dr Marta Milo

Lecturer in Computational Biology

Room: C224a Alfred Denny building
Extension: 21098
Email: M.Milo@sheffield.ac.uk

 Staff homepage: Marta Milo

Research theme: Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine

Dr Mirna Mustapha

MRC Senior Fellow

Room: B1 224 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 21092
Email: mirna.m@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Mirna Mustapha

Research theme: Neuroscience

Dr Mohammed Nassar

Lecturer

Room: C223 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 22392
Email: m.nassar@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Mohammed Nassar

Research theme: Neuroscience
Dr Anton Nikolaev

Lecturer

Room: B1 221b Alfred Denny building
Extension: 25113
Email: a.nikolaev@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Anton Nikolaev

Research theme: Neuroscience

Dr Emily Noël

Independent Research Fellow

Room: C21 Firth Court
Extension: 22311
Email: e.s.noel@sheffield.ac.uk

 Staff homepage: Emily Noël

Research theme: Developmental Biology and Disease

  Dr Andrew Peden

Senior Lecturer

Room: D06 Florey building
Extension: 22312
Email: a.peden@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Andrew Peden

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Professor Marysia Placzek

Professor in Developmental Neurobiology

Room: D18b Firth Court
Extension: 22353
Email: m.placzek@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Marysia Placzek

Research themes: Neuroscience; Cell Biology and Cancer; Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine

Dr Elena Rainero

Lecturer

Room: B2 04 Florey building
Extension: 23696
Email: e.rainero@sheffield.ac.uk
Staff homepage: Elena Rainero

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Nigel Russell-Sewell

University Teacher (Education Specialist)

Room: C108 Addison Building
Extension: 22474
Email: n.russell@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Nigel Russell-Sewell

Professor Marcelo Rivolta

Professor of Sensory Stem Cell Biology

Room: C226 Alfred Denny building
Extension: 22385
Email: m.n.rivolta@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Marcelo Rivolta

Research theme: Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine; Neuroscience

Dr Louise Robson

Senior University Teacher/ Director of Undergraduate Studies

Room: B108 Addison Building,
Lab: B2 221 Alfred Denny
Extension: 24688
Email: l.robson@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Louise Robson

Research theme: Neuroscience

Dr Henry Roehl

Senior Lecturer

Room: C21 Firth Court
Extension: 22351
Email: H.Roehl@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Henry Roehl

Research themes: Developmental Biology and Disease; Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine

Dr Elizabeth Seward

Senior Lecturer

Room: E03 Florey building
Extension: 22383
Email: e.p.seward@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Elizabeth Seward

Research themes: Neuroscience; Cell Biology and Cancer

Professor Carl Smythe

Professor of Cell Biology

Room: E03a Florey building
Extension: 24643
Email: c.g.w.smythe@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Carl Smythe

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Professor Elizabeth Smythe

Professor of Cell Biology

Room: C09 Florey building
Extension: 24635
Email: e.smythe@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Elizabeth Smythe

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Professor David Strutt

Wellcome Senior Research Professor

Room: D36a Firth court
Extension: 22372
Email: d.strutt@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: David Strutt

Research themes: Cell Biology and Cancer; Developmental Biology and Disease

Dr Matthew Towers

Reader

Room: D18c Firth Court
Extension: 24697
Email: m.towers@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Matthew Towers

Research theme: Developmental Biology and Disease

Dr Anestis Tsakiridis

Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow
Lecturer

Room: E225a Alfred Denny building
Extension: 22367
Email: a.tsakiridis@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Anestis Tsakiridis

Research themes: Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine; Developmental Biology and Disease

Dr Freek van Eeden

Senior Lecturer

Room: C13 Firth Court
Extension: 22348
Email: f.j.vaneeden@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Freek van Eeden

Research themes: Developmental Biology and Disease; Cell Biology and Cancer

Professor Tanya Whitfield

Professor of Developmental Biology
Director of Research

Room: C21 Firth Court
Extension: 22350
Email: t.whitfield@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Tanya Whitfield

Research themes: Developmental Biology and Disease; Neuroscience

Professor Steve Winder

Professor of Molecular Cell Biology
Director of Recruitment & International Relations

Room: B2 06 Florey building
Extension: 22332
Email: s.winder@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Steve Winder

Research theme: Cell Biology and Cancer

Dr Martin Zeidler

Reader in Cell Signalling

Room: D43 Firth Court
Extension: 26093
Email: m.zeidler@sheffield.ac.uk

Staff homepage: Martin Zeidler

Research themes: Cell Biology and Cancer; Developmental Biology and Disease

Key Departmental Contacts

If telephoning from outside the University, add (0114) 22 before the extension number given. International numbers should add +44 114 22.

Head of Department (HoD)

Professor Kathryn Ayscough
Extension: 22371
Email: hodbms@sheffield.ac.uk

Director of Undergraduate Studies (DoUG)

Dr Louise Robson
Extension: 24688
Email: dougsbms@sheffield.ac.uk

Personal Assistant to HoD and DoUG

Mr Will Collier
Extension: 24663
Email: w.collier@sheffield.ac.uk

Student Support Office/Departmental Enquiries

BMS Office
Extension: 22320
Email: bmsoffice@sheffield.ac.uk

Director of Research

Professor Tanya Whitfield
Extension: 22350
Email: t.whitfield@sheffield.ac.uk

Director of Recruitment & International Relations

Professor Steve Winder
Extension: 22332
Email: s.winder@sheffield.ac.uk

Director of Postgraduate Research

Dr. Kai Erdmann
Extension: 24698
Email: K.Erdmann@sheffield.ac.uk

Departmental Manager

Ms Angelique Mawdsley
Extension: 24672
Email: a.c.mawdsley@sheffield.ac.uk

Technical Manager/Departmental Safety Officer

Mrs Melanie Hannah
Extension: 24670
Email: m.hannah@sheffield.ac.uk

Deputy Departmental Safety Officer (Health & Safety)

Mrs Jackie Price
Extension: 24694
Email: dsobms@sheffield.ac.uk

Electronics/ Repairs and PAT Testing

Extension: 24685
Email: bms-electronics@sheffield.ac.uk
or bms-pat@sheffield.ac.uk

Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Dr Zoe Hewitt
Extension: 22355
Email: z.hewitt@sheffield.ac.uk