27th Annual Northern Universities Meeting on

Chemical Physics (ANUMOCP XXVII)

Tuesday, 4th July 2017 

ANUMOCP is informal meeting of researchers from the Midlands, Scotland and the North of England (well, anywhere where you could get to Sheffield for a day-meeting), where young researchers can talk about their work in a friendly environment, and is sponsored by the Molecular Physics Group of the Institute of Physics and the Spectroscopy and Dynamics Group of the RSC. There is no formal registration cost although a charge of £10 per person will be made to cover the cost of lunch and refreshments.

See here for online payment


Time Speaker Affiliation Title
10:00 COFFEE
10:30 Introduction/Welcome
Chair: Prof. Julia Weinstein
10:35 Jon Shewring Sheffield Working towards correlative probes for bioimaging using luminescent transition metal complexes
10:55 Huda Al-Salem Manchester Characterisation and dynamics of functionalised graphene using sum-frequency generation spectroscopy
11:15 Kevin Douglas Leeds Low temperature studies of reactions of 1CH2 with particular relevance to Titan’s atmosphere
11:35 Joe Clarke Sheffield Analytical Expressions for Hückel-London ring-currents in heterocycles
11:55 Anatolij Miloserdov Newcastle Chemical transformation in microscopic aerosol droplets
Chair: Dr. Adrien Chauvet
13:20 Peter Gillespie Sheffield Computational studies of the TiO2/graphene oxide photocatalytic interface
13:40 Finlay Walton Glasgow Laser Control over Phase Separation and Nucleation
14:00 Rosaria Cercola York Mapping the Photophysics and Photochemistry of therapeutic PhotoCORMS
14:20 Minas Stefanou Edinburgh Exploring the super-atom molecular electronic states of Li@C60 using femtosecond laser photoelectron spectroscopy and DFT calculations.
14:40 Joseph Leng HWU Scattering-angle dependent orientation transfer in excited state NO: The k-j-k’-j’ vector correlation in NO(A) + Ne scattering
Chair: Dr. Grant Hill
15:20 Francisco Rosetto Sheffield Singlet fission rate depends on crystallite size in polycrystalline anthradithiophene films
15:40 Allie Tyson Durham Making a MESS (Multi-experiment spectral suite) for hydrated electrons
16:00 Joshua Gibson Nottingham Stabilisation of carbon dioxide within 1-octyl-3-methylimidazolium based ionic liquids
16:20 Urslaan Chohan Manchester Potential energy surfaces for the adsorption and diffusion of H through iron
16:40 Robert Shaw Sheffield A new, linear-scaling method for noncovalent interactions


The conference will take place in Lecture Theatre 1 of the Dainton Building, University of Sheffield - See here for Travel Details. The programme will run between 10:30 and 17:00 with coffee/registration from 10:00.


The registration fee includes coffee and tea and lunch. Overnight accommodation is available at a number of hotels and guest houses within 15 minutes walk of the Dainton Building. We will be happy to provide a list of appropriate places with approximate prices, but participants who need overnight accommodation either before or after the meeting are asked to make their own arrangements in good time.


Participants arriving by train at Sheffield Midland Station should catch the tram from the rear of the station. Trams heading for Malin Bridge (blue route) run via the University approximately every 10 minutes. For the return journey take the tram travelling to Halfway (blue route). 

Parking in the University area can be difficult, so if you are planning to travel by car, we recommend that you use the Park & Ride facilities. Further details may be found at: http://www.sheffield.ac.uk/visitors/mapsandtravel/parkandride We regret that no permits can be issued for University car parks.


Please register on-line by selecting the link "See here for online payment"

If you have any problems, please contact Anthony Meijer at a.meijer@sheffield.ac.uk

Alternatively, you can pay on the day. Registration fees are £10 per person. Registrations will be acknowledged to confirm a place at the meeting

See here for online payment


We warmly thank the following for sponsorship and other assistance with this meeting:

Molecular Physics Group of the IoP

Spectroscopy and Dynamics Group of the RSC