Prizes for outstanding PhD theses awarded for polymer and nuclease projects

Two PhD graduates have been awarded our Turner Prize for outstanding PhD theses.

Steven Shaw and Matt Rymaruk completed their PhDs in 2018, and received the an annual award which was donated by the late Emeritus Professor W. E. S. Turner FRS.

The prize is designed to encourage postgraduate chemistry students who are at the beginning of their research career. 

For his PhD, entitled 'RAFT dispersion polymerisation in silicone oil', Matt worked with Professor Steve Armes FRS.

Matt's work has led to three publications so far, and he has presented his work at four international conferences. He currently has a postdoctoral research fellowship with Professor Armes.

Steven Shaw completed his PhD, 'Mechanistic studies of 5' nucleases: The FEN superfamily' with Professor Jane Grasby, and also contributed to three publications.

He has presented his work at three international conferences and since completing his PhD has been working as a postdoctoral researcher with Dr Cyril Sanders in the Medical School at the University of Sheffield.

Matt Rymaruk

Steven Shaw