Molecular Design and Catalysis

Members of the Molecular Design and Catalysis cluster have a common interest in the syntheses of new molecular architectures focusing on functional systems whose properties could be used in a wide range of applications.

A researcher performing a catalysis experiment.

Between them they have expertise across organic and inorganic chemistry, from small molecules and supramolecular assemblies to metal organic frameworks and nanomaterials.

Major themes

  • Catalysis – the design, synthesis, and characterisation of organometallic- and organo-catalysts, and supramolecular catalysts, metal oxides and metal nanoparticles
  • Self-assembly – of functional molecular architectures, porous coordination frameworks, and graphene inspired nano-materials
  • Molecular recognition - recognising and sensing ions, molecules, and bio-molecules
  • Synthetic methods – finding new ways of making molecules and supramolecular assemblies, asymmetric synthesis, as well as understanding mechanisms, and identifying structure-property relationships


For further information about Molecular Design and Catalysis at Sheffield please see the staff page of individual researchers below:

Professor Jim A. Thomas

Professor Lee Brammer

Professor Iain Coldham

Dr Marco Conte

Dr Jonathan A. Foster

Dr Anthony Haynes

Professor Simon Jones

Dr Benjamin M. Partridge

Dr Peter Portius

Dr Lance J. Twyman

Professor Nicholas H. Williams

Members of other research clusters active in molecular design and catalysis:

Professor Beining Chen

Dr Grant Hill

Professor Joseph Harrity

Professor Richard Jackson

Professor Anthony Meijer

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.