Polymers, Materials and Nanoscience

Our substantial expertise in synthetic polymer chemistry and polymeric materials characterisation is used to tackle a broad range of real-world problems. Important analytical techniques include small-angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) and X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), atomic force microscopy (AFM), thermogravimetry, aqueous electrophoresis, gel permeation chromatography (GPC), and various particle size analysis instruments, such as analytical centrifugation, dynamic light scattering and laser diffraction.

This cluster has a strongly interdisciplinary outward-facing ethos, as evidenced by many collaborations both with other academic disciplines (e.g. physics, biology and engineering) and also industrial partners, including Unilever, Lubrizol, AkzoNobel, Ashland, Scott Bader, Syngenta, DSM, BASF, SC Johnson, BTG and GEO.

Polymers, materials and nanoscience major themes

  • Polymers -block copolymer self-assembly, water-soluble polymers, polymer nanoparticles and latexes, polymeric biomaterials, conducting polymers.
  • Materials - polymer crystallisation, polymeric soft matter, small-angle-X-ray scattering, Pickering (nano)emulsions, polyurethane foams, porous polymers.
  • Surfaces - 2D patterned substrates, polymer brushes, X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, AFM, nanolithography, supported lipid bilayers.

People

For further information about Polymers, Materials and Nanoscience at Sheffield please see the staff page of individual researchers below:

Steve Armes

Professor Steven P. Armes, FRS

Professor of Polymer and Colloid Chemistry and Head of Polymers, Materials and Nanoscience Cluster

Tel: 0114 222 9342
Email: s.p.armes@sheffield.ac.uk

Robert Dawson

Dr Robert Dawson

Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9357
Email: r.dawson@sheffield.ac.uk

Ahmed Iraqi

Dr Ahmed Iraqi

Reader in Polymer Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9566
Email: a.iraqi@sheffield.ac.uk


Graham Leggett

Professor Graham J. Leggett

Professor of Nanoscale Analytical Science & Head of Department

Tel: 0114 222 9556
Email: graham.leggett@sheffield.ac.uk

Oleksandr Mykhaylyk

Dr Oleksandr O. Mykhaylyk

Senior Research Fellow in Crystallisation

Tel: 0114 222 9418
Email: o.mykhaylyk@sheffield.ac.uk

Tony Ryan

Professor Anthony J. Ryan, OBE

Professor of Physical Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9382
Email: a.ryan@sheffield.ac.uk


Andrew_Slark

Prof. Andrew Slark

Professorial Fellow

Tel: 0114 222 9540
Email: a.slark@sheffield.ac.uk


Seb Spain

Dr Sebastian Spain

Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9362
Email: s.g.spain@sheffield.ac.uk


Members of other research clusters active in polymers, materials and nanoscience