Theory and Light-Matter Interactions

Optical processes are important in many areas of science. Spectroscopic characterisation gives us information about molecular structure, and the optical properties of molecules and materials can be manipulated synthetically to address specific applications, for example in solar energy capture, biological imaging and sensors. The Theory and Light-Matter Interactions Cluster brings together expertise in theoretical chemistry, spectroscopy, synthesis and nanophotonics to tackle a wide range of scientific questions.

Theory and light-matter interactions major themes

  • Ultra-fast spectroscopy - studies of dynamics of electrons and energy transfer in condensed phases; development of methods for the control of charge-separated states in transition metal complexes; measurements on proteins involved in photosynthesis
  • Biological imaging - highly luminescent metal chromophores, development of photosensitisers
  • Raman spectroscopy - development of portable apparatus for environmental monitoring and biological applications
  • Surface spectroscopy - XPS and secondary ion mass spectrometry of organic monolayers, thin films and biological assemblies
  • Plasmonics - use of nanoplasmonic phenomena to understand mechanisms involved in photosynthesis
  • Theoretical chemistry

People

For further information about Theory and Light-Matter Interactions at Sheffield please see the staff page of individual researchers below:


Patrick Fowler

Professor Patrick W. Fowler, FRS

Professor of Theoretical Chemistry and Joint Head of Theory and Light-Matter Interactions Cluster

Tel: 0114 222 9538
Email: p.w.fowler@sheffield.ac.uk


Julia Weinstein

Professor Julia A. Weinstein

Professor of Physical Chemistry and Joint Head of Theory and Light-Matter Interactions Cluster

Tel: 0114 222 9408
Email: julia.weinstein@sheffield.ac.uk


Adrien Chauvet

Dr Adrien Chauvet

Lecturer in Physical Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9414
Email: a.chauvet@sheffield.ac.uk


Grant Hill

Dr J. Grant Hill

Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9392
Email: grant.hill@sheffield.ac.uk


Michael Hippler

Dr Michael F. A. Hippler

Senior Lecturer in Physical Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9505
Email: m.hippler@sheffield.ac.uk


Natalia Martsinovich

Dr Natalia Martsinovich

Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9562
Email: n.martsinovich@sheffield.ac.uk


Anthony Meijer

Professor Anthony J. H. M. Meijer

Professor of Theoretical Chemistry

Tel: 0114 222 9482
Email: a.meijer@sheffield.ac.uk


Members of other research clusters active in Theory and Light-Matter Interactions