Technical Staff

Paul Bentley

Dr Paul Bentley

Senior Experimental Officer

Contact about:

  • Electronics and instrumentation
  • Test rig design
  • Departmental Laser Safety Officer
  • Deputy Departmental Safety Officer

paul.bentley@sheffield.ac.uk

D101, Sir Frederick Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 25708

Paul Blackbourn

Paul Blackbourn

Senior Technician
Civil Engineering Workshop Supervisor

Contact about:

  • Imagineering, engineering and manufacturing guidance
  • Structures rig building and testing

p.blackbourn@sheffield.ac.uk

C130 Workshop, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 25062

Glenn Brawn

Glenn Brawn

Laboratory Superintendent

Contact about:

  • Management of technical support and laboratories
  • Departmental estate/space

g.brawn@sheffield.ac.uk

D109f, Sir Frederick Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 25723

David Callaghan

David Callaghan

Senior Technician, Geotechnical and
Water Engineering Laboratories

Contact about:

  • Geotechnics
  • Water Engineering

d.r.callaghan@sheffield.ac.uk

Water Lab C102a, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 35069

Alex Cargill

Alex Cargill

Technician, Geotechnical and
Water Engineering Laboratories

Contact about:

  • Geotechnics
  • Water Engineering

a.cargill@sheffield.ac.uk

Water Lab C102a, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 35710

No Image Available

Martin Taylor

Technician, Geotechnical and
Water Engineering Laboratories

Contact about:

  • Geotechnics
  • Water Engineering

martin.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk

Water Lab C102a, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 35069

Andy Fairburn

Andy Fairburn

Senior Specialist in Analytical Chemistry
GPRG Laboratories

Contact about:

  • H&S and CoSHH advice, safety inductions
  • Analytical chemistry, anion/cation analysis,
    HPLC, GC-FID, GC-EC, gas analysis, GC-MS,
    ICP-MS, AAS, colourmetric techniques

a.fairburn@sheffield.ac.uk

G24/S10, Kroto Research Institute

+44 (0)114 22 25770, M: 07734 868647

Mark Foster

Mark Foster

Senior Technician, Geotechnical and
Water Engineering Laboratories

Contact about:

  • Geotechnics
  • Water Engineering
  • Water quality

m.a.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

Water Lab C102a, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 25067

Alan Grundy

Alan Grundy

Senior I.T. Technician

Contact about:

  • IT Support

a.grundy@sheffield.ac.uk

D101, Sir Frederick Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 25072

Don Jenkins

Don Jenkins

Teaching/Research Laboratory Technician

Contact about:

  • Structures/materials projects and testing
  • Design, H&S, project planning for test rigs
    and components
  • Data aquisition and instrumentation

d.jenkins@sheffield.ac.uk

Heavy Structures Lab, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 25754

Bez Khan

Bez Khan

IT/Electronic Support

Contact about:

  • IT/Electronics

m.zkhan@sheffield.ac.uk

D101, Sir Frederick Mappin Building

+44 (0)7827 880412

No Image Available

Roy Mellor

Senior Technician, CEDUS Laboratories

Contact about:

  • CEDUS Laboratories

r.mellor@sheffield.ac.uk

CEDUS Laboratories, Buxton

+44 (0)1298 25951

Kieran Nash

Kieran Nash

Technician, Materials and Structures
Laboratories

Contact about:

  • Concrete preparation and testing
  • Risk assessments, safety inductions, PPE
  • Storage of materials

k.nash@sheffield.ac.uk

Heavy Structures Lab, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 35720

Paul Osbourne

Paul Osborne

Laboratory Supervisor, Geotechnical and
Water Engineering Laboratories

Contact about:

  • Geotechnical/Water Engineering
    research and teaching
  • Survey equipment

p.l.osborne@sheffield.ac.uk

Water Lab C102a, Mappin Building

+44 (0)114 22 25722

No Image Available

Robin Markwell

Laboratory Technician in Concrete

Contact about:

  • Concrete preparation and testing

r.markwell@sheffield.ac.uk

F111e, Sir Frederick Mappin Building

+44 (0) 114 222 5754