Academics

Name Research Themes Title Email Telephone
Ext

DrDomenicoBau

Bau, Dr Domenico

Groundwater Protection and Restoration Senior Lecturer d.bau@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 20253

ProfJobyBoxall

Boxall, Prof. Joby

Water Distribution Systems and Infrastructure Head of Department
Professor of Water Infrastructure Engineering
EPSRC Challenging Engineer
j.b.boxall@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25760

DrRichCollins

Collins, Dr Richard

Water Distribution Systems and Infrastructure Lecturer in Water Engineering r.p.collins@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25715

ProfIanGuymer

Guymer, Prof Ian

Environmental Fluid Mechanics
SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage
Professor of Civil Engineering i.guymer@Sheffield.ac.uk +44(0) 114 222 5740

DrGeorgesKess

Kesserwani, Dr Georges

Environmental Fluid Mechanics
SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage
Senior Lecturer in Catchment Science G.Kesserwani@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25746

DrAndyNichols

Nichols, Dr Andy

SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage MEng Engineering Lecturer & Senior Lecturer in Water Engineering A.Nichols@Sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 7834 161 127

Dr Charles Rouge

Rouge, Dr Charles

Water Distribution Systems and Infrastructure Lecturer c.rouge@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 5723

DrAlmaSchellart

Schellart, Dr Alma

Environmental Fluid Mechanics
SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage
Senior Lecturer in Water Engineering a.schellart@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25765

DrSongdong

Shao, Dr Songdong

Environmental Fluid Mechanics Senior Lecturer in Water Engineering s.shao@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25783

DrJamesShu

Shucksmith, Dr James

Environmental Fluid Mechanics
SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage
Senior Lecturer in Water Engineering j.shucksmith@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25706

is_do

Soler, Dr Isabel Douterlo

Water Distribution Systems and Infrastructure EPSRC LWEC Research Fellow i.douterelo@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 9728

V_Stovin

Stovin, Prof. Virginia

Environmental Fluid Mechanics
SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage
Professor of Green Infrastructure for Stormwater Management v.stovin@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25051

ProfSimonTait

Tait, Prof Simon

Environmental Fluid Mechanics
SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage
Professor of Water Engineering s.tait@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25771

ProfSteveThorn

Thornton, Prof Steve

Groundwater Protection and Restoration Professor in Environmental Engineering Science s.f.thornton@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 22 25744

Research Staff

m.regadio@sheffield.ac.uk Marie Curie Individual Postdoctoral Fellow

Name Research Themes Title Email Telephone
Ext

DeVille-S

De-ville, Dr Simon

SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage Research Associate simon.de-ville@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5416

katfish

Fish, Dr Katherine

Water Distribution Systems and Infrastructure Research Associate k.fish@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5767

shusband_400x400

Husband, Dr Stewart

Water Distribution Systems and Infrastructure Research Fellow s.husband@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5416

Gabriella Kakonyi

Kakonyi, Dr Gabriella

Environmental Engineering, Environmental Science and Social Science Research Associate g.kakonyi@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5734

Emma Mallinson

Mallinson, Emma

Research Assistant emma.mallinson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5786

Mounce, Dr Steve

HydroInformatics and AI Visiting Research Fellow s.r.mounce@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 114 222 5750

matteo

Rubinato, Dr Matteo

Environmental Fluid Mechanics, SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage Visiting Research Fellow m.rubinato@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5768

henry_nicholls

Nicholls, Dr Henry

Molecular Microbiological Techniques Research Associate h.nicholls@sheffield.ac.uk

mrg_image

Regadío García, Dr Mercedes

Treatment of Pollutants and Recovery of Metals in Soils Marie Curie Individual Postdoctoral Fellow m.regadio@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5786

bastian_saputra

Saputra, Bastian

Biochar for Remediation of Contaminated Soils Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow b.saputra@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5786

WillPhoto6

Shepherd, Dr Will

SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage Post-doctoral Research Staff w.shepherd@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5732

sonnenwald

Sonnenwald, Dr Fred

Environmental Fluid Mechanics
SuDS (Sustainable Drainage Systems) and Urban Drainage
Research Associate f.sonnenwald@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5768

rosa_penafiel

Soria Penafiel, Rosa

Biochar for Remediation of Contaminated Soils Marie Skłodowska-Curie Research Fellow r.soria@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0)114 222 5786

Speight_2014.

Speight, Dr Vanessa

Water Distribution Systems and Infrastructure Senior Research Fellow in Integrated Water Systems v.speight@sheffield.ac.uk +44 (0) 7717 807676

Research Students

Name Research Project Email
Askari, S. Hamza City-scale Moisture And Energy Flux Due To Evapotranspiration From Urban Vegetation: Effects On Urban Heat Island And Flood Resilience SHAskari1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ayog, Janice Simplified Two-dimensional Second-order Discontinuous Galerkin Flood Model For Real-world Applications jlayog1@sheffield.ac.uk
Cho, Yun-Hang An integrated numerical and physical modelling approach to enable remote measurement of turbulent free-surface flows. yun-hang.cho@sheffield.ac.uk
Corredor Garcia, J. Leonardo Solute Transport In Flow Through Emergent Vegetation jlcorredorgarcia1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dalby, Emily Dual Function Rainwater Harvesting And Stormwater Management erdalby1@sheffield.ac.uk
Doronina, Anastasia Understanding Service Reservoir Performance; Source Or Sink Of Material adoronina1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hough, Ian Quantifying The Relationship Between Flow And Ecological Response To Inform Reservoir Flow Regimes imhough1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Eleanor More Than Methane: Linking Geomorphology And Biogeochemistry To Understand Biogas Emissions From Two Wetlands In Svalbard eljones3@sheffield.ac.uk
Kyritsakas, Grigorios Understanding Drinking Water Quality Through Enhanced Analytics gkyritsakas1@sheffield.ac.uk
Lamb, Natalie Chemical Free Drinking Water Treatment nstlamb1@sheffield.ac.uk
Muraro, Fabio River Hydrodynamics And Acoustic Sensing fmuraro1@sheffield.ac.uk
Peng, Zhangjie Hydraulic Conductivity In Variably-saturated Engineered Substrates For Green Infrastructure zpeng3@sheffield.ac.uk
Pick, Frances Understanding The Impact Of Assimilable Organic Carbon On Biological Stability And Biofilm Development Within Drinking Water fcpick1@sheffield.ac.uk
Saputra, Bastian Developing Biosensors To Measure The Bioavailability Of Heavy Metals In The Remediation Of Contaminated Soil bsaputra1@sheffield.ac.uk
Shirvani, Mohammad Multi-agent-based Solution Of 2d Water Flows On Gpus: A Versatile Platform For Interactive And Multi-perspective Flood Risk Research mshirvani1@sheffield.ac.uk
Soria Penafiel, Rosa Inpiration-itn, Project: Biochar For The Restoration Of Polluted Soils risoriapenafiel1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sun, Xitong Numerical Modelling Of Hydrodynamic Processes xsun44@sheffield.ac.uk
Weston, Sally Transient Mobilisation Of Adhered Material sally.weston@sheffield.ac.uk
Wu, Jiayi Microwave Sensing Of Turbulent Flow Processes For Intelligent Drainage Monitoring And Management jiayi.wu@sheffield.ac.uk