Our Team

Professor Dave Stone, Director of CREESA

Prof Dave Stone is Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Sheffield. He was appointed into the Electrical Machines and Drives (EMD) research group in 1989, and is heavily involved in EV/HEV research, together with energy conversion. He has led battery testing and management for over 15 years, being principal investigator on industrially oriented projects (e.g INMOVE (EU funded), Rholab (DTI funded), ISOLAB42 (DTI funded)), together with more academic work funded by the EPSRC, and TSB funded work on recycling and reuse of batteries on the grid, and Li-ion battery pack management, together with direct industrial interaction. The battery work, coupled to power electronics, have resulted in over 250 papers. Prof Stone manages the high power battery test facilities, capable of testing both single cells and battery strings within temperature controlled environments.

email : d.a.stone@sheffield.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 114 222 5046

Professor Martin Foster

Professor Martin Foster was appointed to the research group in 2003, and has an interest in design
and optimisation of power electronics converters and energy storage and management having published over 120 publications in the field. Currently he works on energy storage, and energy usage within buildings, and is involved with a number of EPSRC, TSB and directly industrially funded projects. Between 1999 and 2000, Dr Foster worked for EP&IC Systems Ltd developing microcontroller-based data acquisition systems, instrumentation and batching controllers for the manufacturing industry.

email : m.p.foster@sheffield.ac.uk
tel: +44 (0) 114 222 5392

Dr Dan Gladwin

Dr Dan Gladwin was appointed lecturer in 2012 in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, the University of Sheffield with particular expertise in energy storage and management, power system control, power electronics, embedded systems, and intelligent systems. He is currently working on electrochemical energy storage for grid scale storage. Other active areas for energy storage and management research include e-Mobility, UAVs, and robotics. Dr Gladwin completed his PhD in Automated Control Structure Design and Optimisation using Evolutionary Computing in 2009 at the University of Sheffield and
completed several years at the same institution as a Research Associate working on power-dense power electronic converters and distributed real time embedded systems platforms for next generation electric vehicles.

Email: d.gladwin@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 114 2225849

Professor Peter Hall

Professor Peter Hall is Chair in Chemical Engineering. His research interests are in developments that will hasten the introduction of clean, carbonless and sustainable energy. He works mainly in the area of electrochemical energy storage, hydrogen storage and fuel cells.

Email: peter.hall@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 114 2228251

Dr Milijana Odavic

Email: m.odavic@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 114 2225170

Our Researchers

Shahab Nejad

Rui Zhao

Matt Smith

Alex Peterson

Jonathan Gomez

Lais Farias Martins

Kathryn Fewlings

Burcu Gundogdu

Dr Chris Gould