The School of Clinical Dentistry is delighted to announce that the EPSRC Centre for Innovative Manufacturing in Medical Devices (MeDe Innovation) has won the Academic Innovator award at recent 'The Engineer: Collaborate to Innovate' 2017 awards.  The awards celebrate the best examples of innovative, technology-led collaboration. From the biggest and boldest infrastructure projects to the most fundamental technology breakthroughs, effective collaboration is the lifeblood of engineering innovation and the Awards celebrated the most effective partnerships!  The nominees were reviweded by an esteemed panel of industry judges across the 8 categories.

The EPSRC Centre for Innovative Manufacturing in Medical Devices (MeDe Innovation) took the prize in the Academic Innovator catagory sponsored by bae-systems.  This awarded to a university department that demonstrates excellence in innovation and collaboration across multiple projects.  The MeDe demonstrated a sustained culture of innovation and collaboration with academic and business partners, and illustrates how their involvement in collaborative projects has contributed directly to their success. EPSRC Centre for Innovative Manufacturing in Medical Devices comprises a collaboration between the University of Leeds, University of Bradford, Newcastle University, University of Nottingham, and University of Sheffield, with industrial partners Ceramisys, Corinthian Surgical, DePuy Synthes, Eminate, Fripp Design, Glass Technology Services, JRI Orthopaedics, Materialise NV, NetComposites, NIHR LMBRU, Promethean Particles, Simpleware, Simulation Solutions and Surgical Innovations.


MeDe represents an important collaboration between academia and industry, working to develop and translate innovative manufacturing methods for musculoskeletal medical device sector.

Professor Paul Hatton - pi for University of Sheffield