Academic Unit of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology

Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology is an academic unit with responsibilities for undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and provision of a specialist, diagnostic head and neck reporting service. It also has an international reputation for high quality research.

Undergraduate oral pathology teaching in the dental course takes place in the first, second, fourth and fifth years of the curriculum but the main Oral Pathology course is held in the fourth year and is followed by a series of case seminars for final year undergraduate students. Members of the unit are also responsible for the teaching of medical microbiology in the 3rd year of the dental undergraduate curriculum as well as biochemistry, cell and molecular biology and oral biology in the first two years. In addition the unit contributes to the teaching of the Hygiene and Therapy course and also runs a one year full time postgraduate taught course in Diagnostic Oral Pathology which leads to the award of a MMedSci degree. Members of staff contribute to a number of internal and external postgraduate courses.

Research in the unit lies within the Oral Disease research group of the School of Clinical Dentistry, and is focused on two main areas. The first concerns the microbiological and immunological aspects of oral disease and in particular the interaction of micro-organisms with host cells and the immune and innate host response. The second concerns the cell and molecular mechanisms of cancer cell invasion and the role of biomarkers in cancer progression.

Our Facilities

The unit accommodation is on the third floor of a modern Dental School building and contains recently refurbished and extended laboratories equipped with over £250k of state-of-the-art molecular and cell biology instruments including a qPCR thermocycler, luminometer, electron microscopy suite and digital photography and photo-microscopy facilities

Our Staff

Title

Name

Email

Telephone

Head of Unit & Honorary Consultant in Oral Pathology Professor K Hunter K.Hunter@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17956
Professor of Oral Pathology & Honorary Consultant in Oral Pathology Professor P M Speight p.speight@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17960
Professor of Oral Microbiology Professor C W I Douglas i.douglas@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17957
Reader in Oral Science (Cell & Molecular Biology) Dr S Whawell s.whawell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17953
Reader in Oral Science (Cell & Molecular Biology) Dr L Bingle l.bingle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17953
Reader in Biochemistry and Cell Biology Dr D Lambert D.W.Lambert@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17959
Reader in Microbiology Dr G Stafford g.stafford@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17959
Lecturer in Human Anatomy Dr S Hunt S.Hunt@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17963
Lecturer in Oral BioScience Dr H Colley h.colley@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17966
Specialist Registrar in Oral Pathology Dr Dan Brierley d.j.brierley@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65477
Consultant Histopathologist/ Senior Clinical Lecturer in Oral Pathology Dr Ali Khurram s.a.khurram@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65477
Departmental Administrator Ms L Friendship l.friendship@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17951
Research Administrator Mrs S Spriggs s.spriggs@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17951
Departmental secretary Mrs M Nicholson (NHS, P/T) m.nicholson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17954
Departmental secretary Mrs J Nocerino (NHS, P/T) j.nocerino@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17954
Technician Miss M Gaunt (NHS) michelle.gaunt@sth.nhs.ac.uk 0114 27 17952
Technician Mr J Heath j.heath@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17963
Technician Mrs B McCabe b.m.swales@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17963
Technician Mr D A Thompson david.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17963
Technician Mrs H Stanhope H.stanhope@sheffield.ac.uk  0114 2717952
Technician Mr R Risorto rikki.risorto@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 271 7952