Academic Unit of Primary Dental Care

The Academic Unit of Primary Dental Care provides teaching for BDS and Diploma in Hygiene and Therapy undergraduate students. We aim to enable students to learn about the responsibilities of the practice environment and to develop the skills and attitudes to deliver quality dental care that addresses patients’ concerns and promotes prevention of oral disease. Teaching is undertaken by a large number of experienced clinical teachers many of whom work primarily in local
dental practices.

Our Facilities

The unit has clinical facilities in the Dental Practice Unit and in the 11 practices participating in the Outreach programme.

Our Staff

Title Name Email Telephone
Head of Unit A Jowett a.k.jowett@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17923
Clinical Teacher C Abson c.abson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17988
Clinical Teacher H Samways h.r.samways@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17988
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) H Wilkes h.j.wilkes@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) R Bealby r.bealby@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65449
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) J Clarke jason.clarke@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) A Harrison andrew.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) S Mulligan
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) H Jones
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) K Dobbs
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) N Hallas
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) A Soni
Administrator Helen Boucher h.boucher@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 68287