Academic Unit of Restorative Dentistry

The Academic Unit of Restorative Dentistry provides teaching for BDS and Diploma in Hygiene and Therapy undergraduate students and DClinDent postgraduate students based in open clinics on the second and third floor of the Charles Clifford Dental Hospital. The work of the unit is concerned with all aspects of restorative dentistry, embracing endodontics, operative dentistry, periodontology and fixed and removable prosthodontics. In addition the unit has expertise in biomaterials, tissue engineering, dental technology and health informatics. The unit has considerable interaction with the wider University through the Centre for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering.

Our Facilities

Facilities are situated on two sites; the second floor of the modern Dental School building and the Dental Technology Unit. In the Dental School this comprises an administrative area, offices for academic staff, a large clinical skills laboratory (42 places) and a small clinical skills laboratory (13 places). The Dental Technology Unit consists of a modern dental technology laboratory (42 places), offices and research facilities. All our laboratories have been recently refitted and contain the latest AV facilities.

Our Staff

Title Name Email Telephone
Head of Unit Professor Nicolas Martin n.martin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 271 7927
Professor Professor G Griffiths g.s.griffiths@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17933
Professor Professor P V Hatton paul.hatton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17938
Professor Professor R van Noort r.vannoort@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17910
Professor Professor Andrew Rawlinson a.rawlinson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 271 7930
Senior Lecturer Dr A Johnson a.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17940
Senior Clinical Teacher Dr A Fairclough a.fairclough@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17937
Senior University Teacher Dr C Stokes c.w.stokes@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17979
Clinical Lecturer Dr Keyvan Moharamzadeh, BSc, DDS, PhD K.Moharamzadeh@Sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Lecturer Dr S Pollington s.pollington@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17928
Clinical Lecturer Dr E Tsitrou e.tsitrou@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17932
Lecturer Dr A Crawford a.crawford@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17939
Clinical Teacher Mrs R Thornhill r.thornhill@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17928
Clinical Teacher Ms S Zijlstra-Shaw s.zijlstra-shaw@sheffield.ac.uk
University Teacher Dr D Patrick d.g.patrick@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17962
University Teacher Dr D Wood d.wood@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17962
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Miss A Bainbridge a.bainbridge@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65470
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mrs C Bealby c.bealby@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17941
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr R Bealby r.bealby@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65449
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr M Bishop m.j.bishop@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr J Clarke jason.clarke@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Miss J Croot j.croot@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65470
clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr E Duodu e.duodu@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65449
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr Y Gamie y.gamie@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17923
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr S Godfrey s.godfrey@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr A Harrison andrew.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mrs R Martin rachel.martin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17941
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mrs D McDonald d.c.mcdonald@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17941
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr S Rasgado s.rasgado@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17923
Clinical Teacher (Part-time) Mr H Wilkes h.j.wilkes@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17931
Associate Specialist / Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer Mr K Figures k.h.figures@sheffield.ac.uk  
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr N Banton (DPU)    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mrs S Craig    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr S Erabadda    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr J Meyer    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr M Pring    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mrs R Sheehan    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr K Dobbs (DPU)    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mrs S Bhakta    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr C Dinsdale    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr N Hallas    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr C Mitchell    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Miss D Rockett    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr D Thomas    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr D Thomas    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr H Jones (DPU)    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Ms A Brearley    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr A Elmougy    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Dr M Hindmarsh    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr C Oxley    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr Z Shah    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Dr G Welsh    
Honorary Clinical Teacher (GDP) Mr A Soni (DPU)    
Post Doctoral Research Assistant Dr R Goodchild r.l.goodchild@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17998
Research Technician Mr R Moorehead r.moorehead@sheffeild.ac.uk  
Unit / Theme Administrator Mrs D Drake d.drake@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17984
Clerical Assistant (Part-time) Mrs J Bicker j.d.bicker@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17930
Clerical Assistant (Part-time) Mrs A Wilson a.m.t.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17930
Accounts Mrs S Anderson s.e.anderson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17942
Technician Mr D Nuttall d.m.nuttall@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 27 17926