Sheffield Interdisciplinary Political Economy Research Group (SiPErg)

Sheffield Interdisciplinary Political Economy Research Group (SiPErg) supports interdisciplinary research in the area of Political Economy by bringing together active researchers in the field.

Our research group takes a quantitative political economy approach to analyse how institutions and social conflict shape the behaviour of political actors and how political decisions influence economic processes (and vice versa). Combining large datasets and cutting-edge quantitative methods, we aim to address contemporary political economic issues with real world relevance.

Sheffield Workshop in Political Economy (SWiPE)

Launched in 2015, SiPErg holds the annual Sheffield Workshop in Political Economy (SWiPE).

Sheffield Workshop in Political Economy

2018 Sheffield Workshop in Political Economy - news story

Our current research areas include:

  • voting behaviour
  • electoral and partisan cycles
  • politics of economic policy-making
  • political economy of foreign aid
  • British political economy and Brexit
  • women’s political preferences
  • electoral fraud
  • political participation
  • economic development
  • economic history
  • immigration
  • terrorism

Members

Georgios EfthyvoulouGeorgios Efthyvoulou

Lecturer in Economics

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3412
Email: g.efthyvoulou@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile

Place holder manAlvaro Martinez-Perez

Lecturer in International and Comparative Social Research Methods

Tel: +4 (01) 114 222 6489
Email: a.martinez-perez@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile

Paul MosleyPaul Mosley

Professor of Economics

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3397
Email: p.mosley@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile

Jonathan PerratonJonathan Perraton

Senior Lecturer in Economics

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3408
Email: j.perraton@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile

Photo of Harry PickardHarry Pickard

Research Associate

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3323
Email: h.g.pickard@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile - coming soon

Place holder manNassos Roussias 

Lecturer in Politics

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 1655
Email: a.roussias@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile

Argyris Sakalis 150x150Argyris Sakalis

PhD Student

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311
Email: asakalis1@sheffield.ac.uk

Vassillis SarantidesVassilis Sarantides

Lecturer in Economics

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3324
Email: v.sarantides@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile

Photo of Dr Eugenia VellaEugenia Vella

Lecturer in Economics

(on research sabbatical until summer 2020)

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 9658
Email: e.vella@sheffield.ac.uk

Full profile