Industrial Liaison Committee

To develop and enhance our degree programmes, promote closer academic/industry research collaborations and examine new educational ideas we have a dedicated group of senior engineers (Industrial Advisory Board - IAB) from a wide range of companies in the electrical and electronic engineering. The IAB works closely with our academics to o ensure that our degrees reflect current developments and industry skills requirements, making a crucial contribution to the successful development of our students.

Board Members

Member Position Company
Mr Simon Fletcher Group Manager NEC Telecom
Dr Antony Harris

Senior Principal Engineer, Processor Division

Mr Adrian Hides Utility Consultant Arup
Dr Wyn Meredith Commercial Director Compound Semiconductor Technologies
Mr Rob Miller Engineering & Portfolio Manager TRW Conekt
Mr Iain Mosely Technical Director Converter Technology
Mr John Murphy Solar Control Techniques Emerson Industrial Automation
Mr Anwar Nadim Group Head EDF Energy Generation
Professor Jim Norton Independent Director and Policy Adviser
Dr Parbhu Patel Principal Antenna Design HMGCC (Her Majesty's Government Communication Centre)
Mr Jon Pinto Antennas and Electromagnetics Group Leader BAE Systems Advanced Technology Centre
Dr Anil Shukla Head, RF Operational Environments, Wireless Communications Group QinetiQ
Dr David Smith Head of Business Development - Europe The Technology Partnership plc (TTP)
Dr Anita Teo Marine Research and Technology Manager Rolls-Royce Plc

University Members

Name Position Contact
Prof. Geraint Jewell Head of Department
0114 222 5845
Mr Luke Marsden Departmental Administration Manager
0114 222 5040
Prof. John David Admissions Academic Lead
0114 222 5185
Dr Lee Ford Teaching Strategy Director and Senior Lecturer, Communications Group
0114 222 5904
Prof. Richard Langley Head of Communications Group
0114 222 5583
Dr Luke Seed Director of Teaching
0114 222 5844
Prof Jo Shien Ng Director of Research
0114 222 5173
Prof Zi-Qiang Zhu Head of Electrical Machines and Drives Group
0114 222 5360