Dr Jo Shien NgProfessor Jo Shien Ng

Professor of Semiconductor Devices

email : j.s.ng@sheffield.ac.uk
ext: 25173
tel: +44 (0) 114 222 5173
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-1064-0410


  • BEng in Electronic Engineering, 1st class, 1999, The University Of Sheffield.
  • PhD in Electronic Engineering, 2003, The University Of Sheffield.

Current Appointments in the University

  • Royal Society Research Fellow from Oct. 2006
  • Senior Lecturer Elect from 2011.

Previous Appointments

At The University Of Sheffield

  • Research Associate in EEE, 2003 - 2006.

Leadership, Management & Administration

Current Activities

Activity Description
EEE Athena SWAN Champion (2012-present) Co-leader of the EEE Athena SWAN team.
Submitted Athena SWAN award application in 2013. Oversee implementation of action plan. Leading next award application.
EEE Women Adviser Female Student Contact Person for all EEE female students (since 2006).
Support person for all EEE female junior researchers and academics (since 2014).
Member of the FoE Equality & Diversity Committee (since 2014) EEE representative.
Member of the Gender Equality Committee (since 2014) A sub-group of the University's Equality and Diversity Board.

Previous Activities

Activity Description
Member of Parents@TUOS (part of Women@TUOS) (2011-2015) Organised quarterly informal support sessions open to all staff and students. Topics of interest to staff and student who are or about to become parents are covered.
Parent-to-Parent buddy scheme to support anyone preparing for, or returning from, parental leaves.

Professional & External Standing

Activity Description
Assessors of proposals Member of the Royal Society Newton International Fellowship assessment panel (2013-2018).
Member of the Royal Society International Exchanges assessment panel (2008-2012).
Reviewer for journals Review manuscripts submitted for publication in journals, such as IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics, IEEE Photonics Technology Letters, Optics Express and Journal of Modern Optics.
Conferences Member of IEEE Photonics Conference subcommittee for Photodetectors, Sensors, Systems and Imaging (2015 - present).
Organiser of Rank Prize Fund mini-symposium on Single Photon Detectors (12th - 15th Jan 2009).
Industrial collaboration or knowledge transfer BAE Systems, UK (2015).
Hisilicon, China (2015 – present).
IS Instruments, UK (2015 – present).
Lasertel, USA (2013 - 2014).
Centronics, UK (2009 - 2012).
Outreach/pubic engagement Member of judging panel of the Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books (2015).
Project “Leading the way: Increasing diversity in scientific workforce”, carried out by Royal Society and British Library. Audio and video interviews for non-expert audience in 2014.

Research & Publications

Research Projects

Research income since Oct 2006 is £3.9 million, made up of Principal Investigator (£1.6 million) and Co-investigator (£ 2.3 million approportioned).

Dates Sponsor Grant Title PI/ co-I
Jul 15 - Apr 16 Commercial AlInP detectors PI
Jul 15 - Jun 16 Commercial Avalanche photodiodes Co-I
Jul 15 - Jun 18 STFC Linear geiger mode detector technology for time resolved spectral measurements PI
Mar 15 - Feb 17 Royal Society High-performance photodetectors for mid-infrared light detection PI
Jan 15 - Jun 18 EU H2020 PROMIS (Postgraduate Research on Dilute Metamorphic Nanostructures and Metamaterials in Semiconductor Photonics) Co-I
Jan 15 - Jun 15 European Space Agency InAs APD development for NIR & SWIR applications (Extension) PI
Apr 13 - Oct 16 EPSRC Next generation avalanche photodiodes Co-I
Apr 13 - Mar 16 Royal Society Royal Society University Research Fellowship PI
Sept 12 - Aug 15 EPSRC InAsNSb dilute nitride materials for mid-infrared devices & applications Co-I

Completed Grants

Dates Sponsor Grant Title PI/ co-I
Jun 14 - Oct 14 Commercial InGaAs/InAlAs APDs PI
Jan 13 - Dec 14 European Space Agency InAs APD development for NIR & SWIR applications Co-I
Dec 12 - Jun 13 Commercial InGaAs/InAlAs APDs PI
Apr 12 - Sept 12 MoD CDE Narrow band APDs for underwater communications Co-I
Mar 11 - Feb 13 EPSRC High performance X-ray detectors with sub-100eV energy resolution PI
Oct 10 - Sept 13 EPSRC Novel InAs avalanche photodiodes for photon counting applications Co-I
Dec 09 - Nov 12 STFC (PIPSS) Knowledge exchange in AlGaAs X-ray detectors PI
Apr 09 - Apr 10 EMRS DTC Detector for Infrared Algorithmic Spectrometer Co-I
Oct 08 - Sept 11 TSB Extended Temperature OptoElectronics II (ETOE II) Co-I
May 08 - Jul 11 EU FP7 Materials for avalanche receiver for ultimate sensitivity (MARISE) PI
May 08 - Jul 10 EPSRC New high-performance avalanche photodiodes based on the unique properties of dilute nitrides Co-I
Nov 07 - Oct 08 MoD CoI Detectors for UV non line-of-sight communication Co-I
Nov 07 - Oct 08 MoD CoI 2 Band Quantum Dot Infrared Photodiodes for Mid- and Long-Wave Infrared Scene Sensing Co-I
Oct 07 - Sept 09 DSTL & STFC Avalanche photodiode array detector for eye-safe 3D imaging PI
Apr 07 - Mar 10 EMRS DTC Infrared photodiodes based on Type-II Superlattices Co-I
Oct 06 - Mar 13 Royal Society Royal Society University Research Fellowship PI
May 06 - Sept 09 European Space Agency Near infrared detectors for LIDAR Co-I
Apr 06 - Mar 09 EMRS DTC Co-I
Oct 05 - Dec 05 EMRS DTC Novel low voltage InAs avalanche photodiodes for affordable 2D IR detectors Co-I
Apr 04 - Sept 06 EU FP6 Secure Communications based on Quantum Cryptography Co-I
Apr 03 - Mar 05 EMRS DTC High sensitivity avalanche photodiodes for imaging and rangefinding Co-I

Research Team

Research Staff

Staff Dates Funding
Simon Dimler 14th Sept 15 - present STFC “Geiger mode detector”
Lucas Pinel 1st Sept 15 - present Marie Curie PROMIS
Peter Vines Mar 11 - Jan 12 EPSRC “High performance X-ray detectors”
Nasser Babazadeh Dec 09 – Dec 11 STFC “AlGaAs x-ray detectors”
Yu Ling Goh Sept 08 – Jul 11 EU MARISE
Matthew Steer Feb 08 - Aug 08 STFC “Avalanche photodiode array”

PhD and MPhil Students

Student Degree Dates Primary/Secondary
Vladimir Shulyak PhD 2015 - present Primary
Jonathan Petticrew PhD 2015 - present Primary
Lucas Pinel PhD 2015 - present Primary
Manuel A Guerroro Moreno MPhil 2013 - present Secondary
Xiao Meng PhD 2011 - present Primary
Graham R Goldberg MPhil 2010 - 2014 Primary
A Rahman B Mohmad PhD 2009 - 2013 Primary
Siok Lan Ong PhD 2009 - 2013 Primary
Daniel S G Ong PhD 2007 - 2011 Primary
Simon J Dimler PhD 2004 - present Secondary
Lionel J J Tan PhD 2004 - 2008 Secondary