Learning and Teaching

Learning and teaching

lecture350.jpg

The University has an international reputation for its high-quality and innovative learning and teaching, delivered by staff who are both committed to providing an outstanding student experience and who are at the cutting edge of research in their own disciplines.

The Arts and Humanities encourage us to reflect on what it means to be human, helping us, and our students, to become active citizens in our various communities. We foster openness to enquiry and independence in asking and answering questions to enable all members of our academic community to make a positive impact on our disciplines.

We offer a broad portfolio of programmes at undergraduate and postgraduate level, including many dual degree combinations both within the Faculty and with departments in the Faculty of Social Science.

Postgraduate taught programmes cover both research-preparation MA courses reflecting our research strengths, and also professional qualifications.

Faculty Learning and Teaching Committees

Development of Faculty Learning and Teaching priorities and oversight of learning and teaching matters are the responsibility of the Faculty Director of Learning and Teaching, David Forrest; supported by the Assistant Director, Richard Steadman-Jones and Faculty Learning & Teaching Enhancement Manager and Deputy Director of Faculty Operations for Learning & Teaching, Rebecca Freeman.

Two faculty committees oversee learning and teaching:

  • Learning and Teaching Committee has responsibility for the management and strategic development of undergraduate teaching.
  • Postgraduate Committee has responsibility for taught and research postgraduate teaching.

Information,support and resources related to learning and teaching for staff in the Faculty can be accessed via the Faculty Document Store (internal access only).

Digital Learning Support Team

If you require advice or support for digital learning (Blackboard, Turnitin, Encore, Kaltura, G-Suite and other learning tools) then your initial contact should be:

Email: artsdigitallearning@sheffield.ac.uk
Phone: 26328

Name

Role

Email

Telephone

Sarah Peacock Learning Technologist s.peacock@sheffield.ac.uk 28054
James Pearson Learning Technologist james.pearson@sheffield.ac.uk 26328

Faculty Learning and Teaching Team

Development of Faculty Learning and Teaching priorities and oversight of learning and teaching matters are the responsibility of the Faculty Learning and Teaching Team. The team includes the Digital Learning Support Team, who are available if you require advice or support for digital learning (Blackboard, Turnitin, Encore, Kaltura, G-Suite and other learning tools).

Name Role Email Telephone
David Forrest Faculty Director of Learning and Teaching d.forrest@sheffield.ac.uk 28493
Rebecca Freeman Faculty Learning & Teaching Enhancement Manager and Deputy Director of Faculty Operations (L&T) rebecca.freeman@sheffield.ac.uk 29893
Scott Dawson Faculty Student Experience Team Leader scott.dawson@sheffield.ac.uk 28056
Louise Johnson Faculty of Arts & Humanities Lead for Postgraduate Affairs p.l.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk 20559
Holly Lown Faculty Student Experience Officer h.lown@sheffield.ac.uk 29714
Sarah Peacock Learning Technologist s.peacock@sheffield.ac.uk 28054
James Pearson Learning Technologist james.pearson@sheffield.ac.uk 26328
Richard Steadman-Jones Assistant Faculty Director of Learning and Teaching r.d.steadman-jones@sheffield.ac.uk 20218
Rachel Van Duyvenbode Faculty Director of Equality and Diversity r.van-duyvenbode@sheffield.ac.uk 28482

Location

Arts Digital Learning,
The University of Sheffield,
Humanities Research Institute (room C.01),
34 Gell Street,
Sheffield,
S3 7QY