Knowledge Exchange - working with Business and Industry

The Faculty has a strong track record of Knowledge Exchange involving commercialisation of research, clinical trials and provision of training and continuing professional development to the Health sector and related industries.

The translation of research and knowledge into benefit for society is a key strategic goal.

The Sheffield Health Gateway is a Faculty-wide centre for stimulating Knowledge Exchange. Specialist in liaising with industry and researchers, the staff of the Sheffield Health Gateway act as agents to identify research partners, carry out commercialisation projects and arrange training and CPD for industry and healthcare professionals.

Gateway Logo

Key Contacts

Susan Smith
Lead Business Manager, responsible for:
Cardiovascular Science, and Primary Care

Telephone: +44 (0) 114 222 8723
Email: sue.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

Steven Wang
Business Manager, responsible for: 
Dentistry and Oncology

Telephone: +44 (0)114 272 8721 
Email: steven.wang@sheffield.ac.uk

Karen Wilkinson
Business Manager, responsible for:
Assistive Technologies, Digital Health including: Telehealth and Telecare, Medical Manufacturing, and Medical Education

Telephone: +44 (0)114 222 1404
Email: karen.wilkinson@sheffield.ac.uk

Jen Carlring-Wright
Business Manager, responsible for:
Human Metabolism, Nursing and Midwifery, and the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR)

Telephone: +44 (0)114 222 8722
Email: j.u.carlring-wright@sheffield.ac.uk

Tom Bartlett
Business Manager, responsible for:
Infection and Immunity, Human Communication Sciences

Telephone: +44 (0)114 222 8720
Email: t.e.bartlett@shef.ac.uk

Richard Ross
Academic Lead for Innovation in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health

Telephone: +44 (0)114 271 2386
Email: r.j.ross@sheffield.ac.uk

Lindsey Crowson
Sheffield Healthcare Gateway Administrator

Telephone: +44 ( 0)114 271 1634
Email: l.crowson@sheffield.ac.uk