PGR Forum: your voice

Through various committees, members of staff and peers, you have a voice within the Faculty and University. Below is an overview of the route you should follow if you have questions or concerns you would like to voice:

PGR student voice diagram

Supervisors and Personal Tutors

Support from your Supervisor and/or Personal Tutor is available and these staff will raise issues with Departments and the Faculty where needed.

Departmental PGR Forums

Departmental forums give students the opportunity to meet and discuss issues within their department. Any outstanding issues that are relevant at a Faculty level are carried forward to the Faculty PGR Forum by the department’s PGR representatives.

Find your department representatives

Faculty PGR forum

PGR Forum Logo

Our Faculty PGR Forum provides an opportunity for student representatives from each of the departments within the Faculty to meet each other and the Faculty PGR Lead (currently Martina Daly). This group gives PGR students a voice and helps ensure that student interests are represented in areas of course development, feedback, and general PGR provision. The Forum harnesses the creative power of students to develop ideas to help improve the PGR experience for students across the Faculty. We bring forward important issues to Faculty Graduate Research Committee, which is our direct audience with the staff.

We also run the Faculty's PGR Day every year and the amazing quarterly Pizza Talks!

Download the role description for a PGR Forum representative - contact us if you're interested in joining!

More information on The University’s vision for PGR Faculty Forums

Faculty Graduate School Committee

The Faculty Graduate Research Committee deals with issues regarding development, monitoring and assessment of postgraduate research students at a Faculty level. If issues can't be solved at Faculty level, they will then be taken up to the University Postgraduate Research Committee which looks after University-wide PGR matters.


Departmental PGR Forums contacts

Dental School PGR Forum

PGR representatives:

Ashley Gains AGains1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bethany Ollington BROllington1@sheffield.ac.uk

Human Communication science PGR Forum

PGR representatives:

Isabel Windeatt (also secretary of the PGR Forum) ilwindeatt1@sheffield.ac.uk

Vacancy

If you are interested in taking on this role, please contact the PGR Lead in HCS, Ray Wilkinson, ray.wilkinson@sheffield.ac.uk

ScHARR PGR Forum

PGR Representatives:

Rodney Nagumo: wnagumo1@sheffield.ac.uk

Vacancy

If you are interested in taking on this role, please contact the PGR Lead in ScHARR, Tracey Young t.a.young@sheffield.ac.uk

Nursing and Midwifery PGR Forum

Vacancies

If you are interested in taking on this role, please contact the PGR Lead in Nursing and Midwifery, Sharron Hinchliff: s.hinchliff@shef.ac.uk)

Medical School

Medical School PGR Forum reps:

Tim Freeman (Neuroscience rep and Chair of the PGR Forum) tmfreeman1@sheffield.ac.uk

Ahmed Bukhari (IICD rep and Treasurer of the PGR Forum) agabukhari1@sheffield.ac.uk

Denise Giovana Carrasco ( O&M rep and Communications rep for the PGR Forum) dgcarrascogonzalez1@sheffield.ac.uk

Philippa Carr (IICD rep) pcarr2@sheffield.ac.uk

Elisabeth Kugler (IICD rep) ekugler1@sheffield.ac.uk

Nathan Wong (IICD rep) nwong2@sheffield.ac.uk

AUME rep - vacancy - if you are interested in taking on this role, please contact PGR Lead for AUME, Denise Bee d.bee@sheffield.ac.uk