Success for Biomedical Science technicians

TechNet, the University of Sheffield's technical networking group recently hosted an event to celebrate technical expertise in HE. This was a celebration of the professional, talented and diverse technicians at the University of Sheffield, and the Faculty of Science was delighted to see recognition for a number of technicians from the Department of Biomedical Science.lineup

The event featured the presentation, to the University of Sheffield, of the Employer Champion Award by Belinda Phipps, CEO of the Science Council. The award was made in recognition of the University’s commitment to the technical workforce and their continued development. Professor Sir Keith Burnett, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sheffield, said: "It gives me very great pleasure to accept the Employer Champion Award.”SirKeith

He added: “Our University is deeply committed to technical education and professional development and we recognise the vital importance of technicians to the future of scholarship and the UK. We know that to thrive in the future, we will need all the skills which allow us to discover and understand the world, to address its challenges and to create the wealth the nation will need in the years ahead."

The University has been proud to celebrate its support for "The Technician Commitment", which is a sector-wide initiative led by the Science Council and supported by the Gatsby Foundation. It aims to help address key challenges facing technical staff working in research and teaching.

Natalie Kennerley CSci, joint Chair of TechNet at the University of Sheffield explained, “The University is fully committed to the Technician Commitment, which ensures greater visibility, recognition, career development and sustainability for technicians across all disciplines.”

At the start of this Technet event presentations were made to a number of individuals who were receiving their Professional Registration Award or their Apprentice Certificates. The awards were presented by Terry Croft CSci, Chair of the Institute of Science and Technology.

The awards for professional registration (Registered Scientist) went to:
Eleanor Markham - Faculty of Science (Biomedical Science)
Frank Fletcher - Faculty of Engineering (Materials Science & Engineering )
Helen Wright - Faculty of Engineering (Multidisciplinary Engineering Education)
Mark Ariaans - Medicine Dentistry & Health (Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease)
Allan Grundy - Faculty of Engineering (Civil & Structural Engineering)

The awards for apprentices went to:
Aaron Kirby - Biomedical Science
Anthony Hodder - Biomedical Science
Scott Weston - Biomedical Science
Keiren O Howarth - Mechanical Engineering

For further information about the TechNet, please visit the website.
Natalie Kennerley and Kevin Oxley can be contacted on: and