Three students chatting

Early-career research fellowships in Social Sciences 

The Faculty of Social Sciences are keen to support outstanding candidates in a number of externally funded research schemes.

We welcome expressions of interest from high quality early-career candidates whose research interests align with those of colleagues across the Faculty of Social Sciences’ academic departments and interdisciplinary research institutes and centres.

Research within the Faculty is vibrant, diverse and world-leading. We recognise the importance of supporting early-career researchers, so provide a range of help and advice with the development of proposals. There are also many opportunities for researcher development available to those who are successful in joining us.

Our research agenda reflects the complex challenges of our age: how to create truly sustainable growth in the face of climate change; creating an inclusive society; adapting to an ever-increasingly digital society; improving wellbeing throughout the life course; and how to harness innovative methods for understanding our world.

As sustained support from the host institution is essential for each funding scheme, our advice, in the first instance, is to identify a potential mentor from one of the Faculty’s academic departments or research institutes and centres. Interested applicants should then submit an expression of interest using the additional guidance under ‘Submitting an Expression of Interest’. The aim of this is to provide some further information about you and your research interests to make sure that there is a good fit between your work and that of the department/centre you would like to join.

With our reputation for research excellence and renowned early career development opportunities, the Faculty of Social Sciences at The University of Sheffield can offer you an excellent environment to establish your research career.

Applying for a Fellowship

Applying for a Fellowship

If you're planning to apply for an independent fellowship, you should submit an expression of interest by:

  • Prepare a 2 page research 
  • Write a 2 page project outline including aims, research questions, methods and outputs
  • Identify which scheme you are interested in applying to
  • Identify a department or research institute you would like to host your fellowship
  • Optionally, you may also want to identify a potential mentor in the host department or research institute

Completed documents should be emailed directly to the named contact for the department or research centre you would wish your fellowship to be hosted by.

Departments

School of Architecture

Professor Darren Robinson

d.robinson1@sheffield.ac.uk

Department of Economics

Professor Arne Risa Hole

a.r.hole@sheffield.ac.uk

School of Education

Professor Katherine Runswick Cole

k.runswick-cole@sheffield.ac.uk

Department of Geography

Professor Peter Jackson

p.a.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk

Information School

Dr Andrew Cox

a.m.cox@sheffield.ac.uk

Department of Journalism Studies

Tony Harcup 

t.harcup@sheffield.ac.uk

Department of Landscape Architecture

Dr Ross Cameron

r.w.camerson@sheffield.ac.uk

Helen Woolley

h.woolley@sheffield.ac.uk

School of Law

Dr Adam White

adam.white@sheffield.ac.uk

Management School

Professor Tim Vorley

tim.vorley@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Kirsty Newsome

k.j.newson@sheffield.ac.uk

Department of Politics and International Relations

Dr Matt Sleat

m.sleat@sheffield.ac.uk

Department of Sociological Studies

Professor Sarah Neal

s.neal@sheffield.ac.uk

Department of Urban Studies and Planning

Ryan Powell

r.s.powell@sheffield.ac.uk

Research centres

Centre for International Research on Care, Labour and Inequalities (CIRCLE)

Professor Sue Yeandle

s.yeandle@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Political Economy Research Institute (SPERI)

Professor Genevieve LeBaron

G.LeBaron@sheffield.ac.uk

iHuman

Professor Dan Goodley

D.Goodley@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Paul Martin

Paul.Martin@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Methods Institute (SMI)

Dr Andrew Bell

andrew.j.d.bell@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Institute for International Development (SIID)

Professor Dan Brockington

d.brockington@sheffield.ac.uk

Urban Institute (UI)

Professor Simon Marvin

S.Marvin@sheffield.ac.uk

Some departments within the Faculty may offer additional support for incoming fellows (e.g. travel bursaries) and further details about this support can be found out when emailing the listed contact.

Some of the funding opportunities listed on this page follow a University selection process in order to select the strongest candidates.

With this in mind, you are encouraged to contact us as early as possible so support can be provided in developing a competitive proposal.

Funding opportunities

Funding opportunities

Researchers applying for fellowships in the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Sheffield may be suitable for one or more of the following schemes.

Please note that some schemes may currently be closed for applications, but the majority of the schemes listed below run on an annual competition cycle.

The list below is not exhaustive, but highlights some of the major schemes early career researchers in the Faculty often apply to.

Scheme Funder Duration Opens Closes
Postdoctoral Fellowships Economic and Social Research Council 12 months November March
Postdoctoral Fellowships British Academy 36 months August  October
Early Career Fellowships Leverhulme Trust 36 months  January  February
Independent Research Fellowships Natural Environment Research Council 60 months July  September
University Research Fellowships Royal Society 60 months July  September
Newton International Fellowships British Academy 24 months January March
Research Fellowships in Humanities and Social Science Wellcome Trust 36 months January/July (two rounds per year)
Postdoctoral Research Fellowships Urban Studies Foundation 36 months July October
Marie Curie Individual Fellowships (European and Global) European Commission: Horizon 2020 Programme 24-36 months July September
Future Leader Fellowships UKRI 60 months Calls available through the year