Academic and research staff

See below for lists of our academic staff, research and research centre staff, emeritus academics and visiting scholars.

Anna Krzywoszynska at a soil science training event

Academic staff | Research staffEmeritus staff | Visiting staff

 

Head of Department

Name Email Telephone Room
Professor Jenny Pickerill HoDGeography@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7960 C7

Academic staff

Name Email Telephone Room
Professor Mark Bateman M.D.Bateman@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7929 F5
Professor Grant Bigg Grant.Bigg@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7905 C14a
Dr Megan Blake M.Blake@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7978 E17
Ms Margi Bryant M.Bryant@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7964 A10
Dr Rob Bryant R.G.Bryant@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7966 F6
Professor Vanesa Castan Broto V.CastanBroto@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7942 C6
Professor Chris Clark C.Clark@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7941 E6
Professor Frances Cleaver F.Cleaver@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7962 F8
Dr Jessica Dubow J.Dubow@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7957 F3
Dr Charis Enns C.Enns@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7939 E9
Dr Daniel Hammett D.Hammett@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7956 E14
Professor Peter Jackson P.A.Jackson@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7908 C12
Dr Julie Jones Julie.Jones@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7967 E5
Dr Juan Miguel Kanai Miguel.Kanai@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7940 C5a
Professor Dorothea Kleine D.J.Kleine@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7954 C14b
Dr Ankit Kumar ankit.kumar@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7937 E9
Dr Ruth Little Ruth.Little@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7990 E15
Dr Stephen Livingstone S.J.Livingstone@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7965 F7
Professor Simon Marvin S.Marvin@Sheffield.ac.uk    
Dr Andrew McGonigle A.McGonigle@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7961 F4
Dr Manoj Menon M.Menon@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7993 E8
Dr Felix Ng F.Ng@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7949 E19
Dr Eric Olund E.Olund@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7982 E7
Professor Dave Petley Debbie Cockerill, Personal Assistant: D.Cockerill@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 22 29821  
Professor Richard Phillips R.Phillips@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7943 F17
Dr Tom Pering T.Pering@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7968 E20
Dr Sammia Poveda S.C.Poveda@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7944 E13
Professor Edward Rhodes Ed.Rhodes@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7910 F10
Dr Andrew Sole A.Sole@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7951 F18
Dr Deborah Sporton D.Sporton@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7953 E16
Dr Darrel Swift D.A.Swift@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7959 E10
Dr Luke Temple L.Temple@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7913 C8
Professor Gill Valentine G.Valentine@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 9787 E12
Dr Matt Watson M.Watson@Sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7911 F9
Dr Adam Whitworth Adam.Whitworth@sheffield.ac.uk +44114 222 7955 E18

Research and research centre staff

Name Email Telephone Room
Dr Beth Armstrong m.armstrong@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7914 C2
Dr Adam Barker adam.barker@sheffield.ac.uk   A9b
Dr Sarah Bradley S.L.Bradley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7990 C5
Dr Frances Butcher F.Butcher@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7972 C5
Dr Kristina Diprose K.Diprose@Sheffield.ac.uk   C2
Dr Carol Ann Dixon C.A.Dixon@sheffield.ac.uk    
Dr Jeremy Ely J.Ely@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7990 C13
Dr Benedict Hoff B.Hoff@sheffield.ac.uk    
Dr Adam Igneczi A.Igneczi@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7972 C5
Dr Tehnuka Ilanko T.Ilanko@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7914 C2
Dr Andrew Ivester A.Ivester@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7914 C2
Dr Cansu Kandemir C.Kandemir@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7914 C2
Dr Anna Krzywoszynska A.Krzywoszynska@Sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7969 A9b
Dr Samantha Outhwaite S.Outhwaite@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7933 E15
Dr Rorie Parsons R.Parsons@sheffield.ac.uk    
Dr Christian Reynolds C.Reynolds@Sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7914 C2
Dr Ann Rowan A.Rowan@Sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7975 C13b
Dr David Stevens D.R.Stevens@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7974  
Dr Judith Tsouvalis Judith.Tsouvalis@sheffield.ac.uk    
Dr Ophélie Véron O.Veron@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7972 A9b
Dr Luke Whaley L.Whaley@Sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7914 C2
Dr Emma Wharfe E.Wharfe@Sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7991
+44 114 222 7992
C1a
B11e

Emeritus academics

Name Email
Professor Harvey Armstrong H.Armstrong@Sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Rodney Brown    R.Brown@Sheffield.ac.uk    
Dr Mike Romano   M.Romano@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Tony Parsons    A.J.Parsons@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Gwyn Rowley          G.Rowley@Sheffield.ac.uk 
Dr Peter Smithson         P.Smithson@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Doug Watts        H.Watts@Sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Paul White P.White@Sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Stephen Wise S.Wise@Sheffield.ac.uk

Visiting scholars

Name Email Telephone
Professor W.Brian Whalley B.Whalley@Sheffield.ac.uk 01143 275652
Dr Mohammad Sarraf Mo.Sarraf@ibf.uu.se
Dr Xiaojing (Rachael) Wen xiaojing.wen@sheffield.ac.uk

Study with us

We have achieved 90% overall student satisfaction and are number one in the Russell Group for Student Voice (NSS 2019).

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.