Academic staff

If you aren’t sure who to contact then get in touch using our general contact details.

Contact us

Academic Staff

Name Job title Department Email address Telephone
Bateman, Professor Mark Professor in Palaeoenvironmental Reconstruction Department of Geography M.D.Bateman@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7929
Bigg, Professor Grant Professor in Earth Systems Science Department of Geography Grant.Bigg@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7905
Blake, Dr Megan Senior Lecturer Department of Geography M.Blake@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7978
Bryant, Margi Teaching Associate (PGT Programmes) Department of Geography M.Bryant@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7964
Bryant, Dr Rob Reader in Dryland Processes Department of Geography R.G.Bryant@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7966
Castan Broto, Professor Vanesa Professorial Fellow Department of Geography V.CastanBroto@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7942
Clark, Professor Chris Sorby Chair of Geoscience Department of Geography C.Clark@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7941
Dubow, Dr Jessica Senior Lecturer Department of Geography J.Dubow@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7957
Hammett, Dr Daniel Senior Lecturer Department of Geography D.Hammett@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7956
Jackson, Dr Philip Researcher Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering p.j.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Dr Julie Senior Lecturer in Climate Science Department of Geography Julie.Jones@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7967
Kanai, Dr Juan Miguel Senior Lecturer in Human Geography Department of Geography miguel.kanai@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7940
Kleine, Professor Dorothea Professor of Human Geography Department of Geography D.J.Kleine@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7954
Kumar, Dr Ankit Lecturer in Development and Environment Department of Geography ankit.kumar@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7937
Little, Dr Ruth Lecturer in Human Geography Department of Geography Ruth.Little@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7983
Livingstone, Dr Stephen Senior Lecturer in Physical Geography Department of Geography S.J.Livingstone@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7965
Marvin, Professor Simon Director of the Urban Institute Department of Geography S.Marvin@Sheffield.ac.uk
McGonigle, Dr Andrew Reader in Volcano Remote Sensing Department of Geography A.McGonigle@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7961
Menon, Dr Manoj Lecturer in Soil/Environmental Science Department of Geography M.Menon@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7993
Ng, Dr Felix Reader in Theoretical Glaciology Department of Geography F.Ng@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7949
Olund, Dr Eric Lecturer in Human Geography Department of Geography E.Olund@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7982
Petley, Professor Dave Vice-President for Innovation Department of Geography D.Cockerill@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 9821
Phillips, Professor Richard Professor in Human Geography Department of Geography r.phillips@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7943
Pering, Dr Tom Lecturer Department of Geography T.Pering@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7968
Poveda, Dr Sammia Lecturer in International Development Department of Geography s.c.poveda@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7944
Rhodes, Professor Edward Professor of Physical Geography Department of Geography Ed.Rhodes@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7910
Sole, Dr Andrew Senior Lecturer in Physical Geography Department of Geography A.Sole@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7951
Swift, Dr Darrel Lecturer in Geoscience Department of Geography D.A.Swift@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7959
Temple, Dr Luke Teaching Associate in Political Geography Department of Geography L.Temple@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7955
Valentine, Professor Gill Lecturer Department of Geography G.Valentine@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 9780
Watson, Dr Matt Senior Lecturer in Human Geography Department of Geography M.Watson@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7911
Whitworth, Dr Adam Senior Lecturer in Human Geography Department of Geography Adam.Whitworth@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7955

Research and research centre staff

Name Job title Department Email address Telephone
Armstrong, Dr Beth Research Staff Department of Geography m.armstrong@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7914
Barker, Dr Adam J Research Assistant Department of Geography a.j.barker@sheffield.ac.uk
Bradley, Dr Sarah Research Staff Department of Geography S.L.Bradley@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7990
Butcher, Dr Frances Postdoctoral Research Assistant Department of Geography f.butcher@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7972
Davies, Dr Archie Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Department of Geography Archie.davies@sheffield.ac.uk
Diprose, Dr Kristina Research Associate Department of Geography K.Diprose@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6284
Dixon, Dr Carol Ann Research Associate Department of Geography C.A.Dixon@sheffield.ac.uk
Ely, Dr Jeremy Independent Research Fellow Department of Geography j.ely@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7994
Fajardo Escoffié, Dr José Luis Research Associate Department of Geography j.fajardo-escoffie@sheffield.ac.uk
Hoff, Dr Benedict Visiting Researcher Department of Geography b.hoff@sheffield.ac.uk
Ignéczi, Dr Ádam Postdoctoral Research Associate Department of Geography a.igneczi@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7972
Ilanko, Dr Tehnuka Research Staff Department of Geography T.Ilanko@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7914
Ivester, Dr Andrew Research Associate Department of Geography a.ivester@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7914
Kandemir, Dr Cansu Research Staff Department of Geography C.Kandemir@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7914
Krzywoszynska, Dr Anna Research Fellow Department of Geography A.Krzywoszynska@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7969
Parsons, Dr Rorie Post-Doctoral Research Associate Department of Geography r.parsons@sheffield.ac.uk
Reynolds, Dr Christian Knowledge Exchange Research Fellow Department of Geography C.Reynolds@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7914
Rowan, Dr Ann Research Fellow Department of Geography A.Rowan@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7975
Shankar, Professor Bhavani Professorial Research Fellow in Food and Health Department of Geography b.shankar@sheffield.ac.uk
Stevens, Dr David Research Staff Department of Geography D.R.Stevens@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7974
Tsouvalis, Dr Judith Research Fellow Department of Geography judith.tsouvalis@sheffield.ac.uk
Véron, Dr Ophélie Research Fellow Department of Geography o.veron@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7928
Whaley, Dr Luke Global Challenges Research Fellow Department of Geography L.Whaley@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7914

Emeritus academics

Name Job title Department Email address Telephone
Armstrong, Professor Harvey Professor Emeritus Department of Geography H.Armstrong@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 194 866 6503
Brown, Rodney Emeritus Department of Geography R.Brown@Sheffield.ac.uk
Romano, Dr Mike Emeritus Department of Geography M.Romano@Sheffield.ac.uk
Parsons, Professor Tony Professor of Sediment Systems Department of Geography A.J.Parsons@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7952
Rowley, Dr Gwyn Emeritus Department of Geography G.Rowley@Sheffield.ac.uk
Smithson, Dr Peter Emeritus Department of Geography P.Smithson@Sheffield.ac.uk
Watts, Dr Doug Honorary Staff Department of Geography H.Watts@Sheffield.ac.uk
White, Professor Paul Emeritus Professor Department of Geography P.White@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 7948
Wise, Dr Stephen Honorary Staff Department of Geography S.Wise@Sheffield.ac.uk

Visiting scholars

Name Job title Department Email address Telephone
Whalley, Professor W. Brian Visiting Scholar Department of Geography B.Whalley@Sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 327 5652
Wen, Dr Xiaojing (Rachel) Visiting Researcher Department of Geography xiaojing.wen@sheffield.ac.uk