Germanic Studies Masters

We are offering a brand new programme called the MA Modern Languages and Cultures for students starting in 2019. On this programme you can specialise in a single area of study such as Germanic Studies or you can pursue a broader programme of different areas of study crossing the full range of languages and cultures we offer. Further details here. This programme will replace the MA Germanic Studies.

The main options currently offered within the MA are:

  • 19th Century German Literary Studies
  • 20th Century German Literary Writing
  • Modern German Thought
  • Dutch Literature since 1945
  • Linguistics of Dutch
  • Germanic sociolinguistics
  • Comparative Germanic Linguistics
  • Luxembourg Studies

For more details, check full course information

Other Masters courses

Germanic Studies also participates in some other taught MAs in the School of Languages and Cultures and across the Faculty of Arts in which you can take a significant proportion of Germanic Studies elements. These programmes include:

Programme Name

Contact Person and email

MA MUNDUS Crossways in Cultural Narratives Dr Sophie Watt (s.watt@sheffield.ac.uk), Dr Lauren Rea (l.rea@sheffield.ac.uk) or Caroline Wordley (c.wordley@sheffield.ac.uk)
MA in Historical Research Dr Timothy Baycroft, Department of History (t.baycroft@sheffield.ac.uk)
MA in Applied Linguistics Dr Jane Mulderrig, Department of English Language and Linguistics (j.mulderrig@sheffield.ac.uk)

For the MPhil and PhD options within Germanic Studies, please check :

MPhil and PhD Research

Contact us

Enquiries for doctoral study (PhD) should be made informally in the first instance to:
Ms Claire Leavitt
Research Support Officer
The University of Sheffield,
School of Languages and Cultures
Sheffield S3 7RA
Telephone: 0114 222 4398
email : c.leavitt@sheffield.ac.uk