SSF-logo

Student-Staff Forum

Student-Staff Forum comprises student representatives and members of staff within the History Department and provides a forum for discussion of matters relating to teaching, learning and the student experience.



What issues should be brought to Student-Staff Forum?

Any issue that concerns undergraduate students. Topics can be raised by any student and all are welcome to meetings of the forum. Alternatively, students can communicate their concerns/questions to their representatives who will raise it with the forum and report back. We will also be holding special meetings to discuss issues that representatives consider matters of general concern, for example contact hours, personal tutor system, and module feedback.



Membership

Representatives from across the three levels of the undergraduate degrees, single and dual honours.



Departmental Staff

Selected members teaching and support staff, depending on topic for discussion.

Student reps will be invited to sign up at the beginning of each academic year. If you miss this opportunity you are welcome to sign up as a representative at any point throughout the year and to attend meetings and raise questions.



Library Representatives

Pete Barr (p.barr@sheffield.ac.uk) and Steven McIndoe (s.mcindoe@sheffield.ac.uk) are the library liaison for the department. Steven and Pete can be contacted with requests, or to raise any issues regarding library matters.



Current Representatives, 2017/18

Level 1

Anna Royce  AERoyce1@sheffield.ac.uk    BA History
Isaac Feely   IFeely1@sheffield.ac.uk         BA History
Natalia Rowles     NRowles1@sheffield.ac.uk     BA History & Politics

Level 2

Charlie Pashley CJPashley1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Conor Smith CHSmith2@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Emily Gee ERGee1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Emma Barrett EBarrett1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Hannah Mansfield HEMansfield1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History & Politics

Level 3

Francesca Wilson FAWilson1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Laura Parkinson LParkinson2@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Molly Preger MNPreger1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Molly Stevens MFStevens1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Sophie Pine SPine1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History
Sion Trewyn STrewyn1@sheffield.ac.uk BA History & Politics



Chair

Each meeting will have a student Chair and Deputy Chair (who will take the minutes). The Deputy Chair will serve as the Chair of the next meeting, so each meeting will include a selection of Deputy Chair. The Chair and Deputy Chair will produce the agenda for each meeting, with the support of the Senior Tutor. They will also, with other representatives, publicise meetings and solicit topics for future meetings depending on student concerns.



Frequency of Meetings

The Forum meets on a regular basis approximately 2-3 times a semester. The meetings are scheduled around student and staff timetables.