Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Each of the 5 Academic Faculties have their own ED&I Committee. Committee Chairs sit on the University's ED&IC, and act as a conduit between University ED&I priorities and faculty ED&I activities.

See below for further information.

Arts & Humanities 

The Faculty of Arts and Humanities recognises that a diverse student and staff community is fundamental to improving our overall effectiveness. We want to create a work place where everyone feels safe and recognised. The Equality and Diversity committee aims to ensure that everybody is treated fairly and according to their individual needs. We are here to translate good intentions into real changes and practices.

HR Contact: Gayle McKeachie (HR Manager) g.mckeachie@sheffield.ac.uk  

Chair: Dr Rachel van Duyvenbode r.van-duyvenbode@sheffield.ac.uk

Find Out More


We believe that diversity in all its forms delivers greater impact in our research and teaching and enhances the experience of our students. Our main focus is to increase the proportion of female engineers, addressing the current drastic underrepresentation. We aim to foster an inclusive culture in which all staff and students can be their whole self within a diverse community. We aim increase the diversity of staff and students in the Faculty, in particular increasing the proportion of female academic staff and students. We will provide additional support that may be required by our staff and students, for example those with caring responsibilities and those from minority backgrounds.

Find out more

HR Contact: Martin Spencer (HR Adviser) m.spencer@sheffield.ac.uk

Chair: Dr Heidi Christensen heidi.christensen@sheffield.ac.uk

Medicine, Dentistry & Health 

The Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health (MDH) Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee aims to support the University in ED&I strategic priorities, the attainment of external benchmarks (such as Athena SWAN) and achievements against our action plan.

Find Out More

HR Contact: Rhiannon Hammond-Jones (HR Adviser) r.hammond-jones@sheffield.ac.uk

Chair: Dr Louise Preston l.r.preston@sheffield.ac.uk


The Faculty of Science (FoS) is committed to a programme of Excellence Through Inclusion and welcomes staff and students from a diverse range of backgrounds. Our goal is to have a motivated and diverse Faculty, where staff and students demand the highest standards from each other and work together to maximise the benefits of difference. Our successes are rooted in the value we place on the roles played by all staff that make our Faculty an excellent place to work and study.

Find out more

HR Contact: Jenny Lloyd (HR Adviser) jenny.lloyd@sheffield.ac.uk

Chair: Professor Katherine Linehan k.linehan@sheffield.ac.uk

Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciences (FSS) is committed to raising the profile of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) issues by supporting a Faculty culture that celebrates diversity, challenges prejudice, implicit bias and institutional inequalities. We have adopted an informed and action-based approach to key inequalities, and we are working to raise awareness of EDI issues throughout all departments within the faculty.

HR Contact: Nicky Hall (HR Adviser) n.l.hall@sheffield.ac.uk

Co-Chairs: Dr Tony Williams (anthony.williams@sheffield.ac.uk) and Dr. Briony Birdi (b.birdi@sheffield.ac.uk)