Gender Equality Committee

Sub-group of Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee

Terms of reference
1. To oversee the implementation and further development of the University’s Athena SWAN action plan and the application of good practice to all departments (STEM and non-STEM).
2. To support the achievement of the University’s KPIs and equality objectives, by raising awareness of gender equality and acting as a body of expertise on gender issues.
3. To advise ED&IC, HR and senior management on measures addressing gender equality at TUoS.

Reports to: Equality,  Diversity & Inclusion Committee

The GEC generally meets in January, May and September of each year.

The next Gender Equality Committee Meeting is on the 18 May 2017 (10.30-12.30) 

Membership (approved by ED&IC)
Committee membership will ensure gender balance and include representation from all sectors of the University: academic staff, professional staff, researchers and students. Members will serve for a period of 3 years and will be expected to attend a minimum of 50% of meetings, of which there will be a minimum of 3 per year.

Chair (appointed by ED&IC) Lorraine Maltby Animal and Plant Sciences (Science)
Susan Brideford Medicine, Dentistry & Health (MDH)
Mark Pendleton School of East Asian Studies (Social Sciences)
Dominic McHugh Music (Arts & Humanities)
Kathryn Ayscough Biomedical Science (Science)
Gwendolen Reilly Materials Science & Engineering (Engineering)
Gill Tait Human Resources (Professional Services)
Lisa Woods Campus Services (Estates & Facilities Management)
3 members (nominated by Women@TUoS Network) Julie Gray Molecular Biology & Biotechnology (Science)
Caitlin Buck Mathematics and Statistics (Science)

Carolyn Staton

Louise Preston

Oncology (Medicine, Dentistry & Health)

School of Health & Related Research (ScHARR)

1 student representative (nominated by Student Union) Serena Cavasin Students' Union Women's Officer

Updated March 2017