Heads of Academic Departments & Professional Services Directors

(For the Year 2016–2017)

FACULTY OF ARTS & HUMANITIES – Faculty Executive Board

Department Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
Archaeology Professor Dawn Hadley Head 1 Sep 14 -
31 Aug 18
archaeology-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 22920
School of English

Professor Adam Piette

Head

1 Sep 15 - 31 Aug 19

a.piette@sheffield.ac.uk

28494

History

Professor Philip Withington

Head

1 Sep 15 - 31 Aug 18

p.withington@sheffield.ac.uk

22614

Music

Professor Stephanie Pitts

Head

1 July 15 - 31 Aug 18

s.e.pitts@sheffield.ac.uk

20481

Philosophy

Dr Rosanna Keefe

Head

1 Sep 15 - 31 Aug 19

r.keefe@sheffield.ac.uk 20581
School of Languages & Cultures

Dr Roel Vismans

Head of School 1 Sep 16
-
31 August 2018
slc-hod@shef.ac.uk 24919

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING – Faculty Executive Board

Department Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
Automatic Control & Systems Engineering Professor Daniel Coca Head 1 Sep 14 -
31 Aug 18
acse-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 25619
Chemical & Biological Engineering Professor Jim Litster Head 1 April 16 -
31 Aug 20
james.litster@sheffield.ac.uk 27592
Civil & Structural Engineering Professor Harm Askes Head 1 Sep 09 -
31 Aug 17
h.askes@sheffield.ac.uk 25769
Computer Science Professor Guy Brown Head 26 Oct 15 -
31 Aug 19
g.j.brown@sheffield.ac.uk 21821
Electronic & Electrical Engineering Professor Geraint Jewell Head 1 Sep 13 -
31 Aug 17
g.jewell@sheffield.ac.uk 25185
Materials Science & Engineering Professor Neil Hyatt Head 1 Sep 15 -
31 Aug 19
n.c.hyatt@sheffield.ac.uk 25470
Mechanical Engineering Professor Neil Sims Head 1 Sep 14 -
31 Aug 18
me-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 27724

Interdisciplinary Programmes Office

Professor Russell Hand Director 1 April 14 -
31 March 17
r.hand@sheffield.ac.uk 25465
Multidisciplinary Engineering Education Professor Stephen Beck Head 1 May 14 -
30 Apr 18
S.Beck@sheffield.ac.uk 27730

FACULTY OF MEDICINE, DENTISTRY & HEALTH – Faculty Executive Board

  Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
MEDICAL SCHOOL, DENTISTRY & ScHARR      
Clinical Dentistry Professor Chris Deery Dean of School 1 Aug 15 - 31 Aug 19 c.deery@sheffield.ac.uk 8-17832
Human Communication Sciences Professor Patricia Cowell Head 1 Aug 14 - 31 Aug 18 p.e.cowell@sheffield.ac.uk 22426
Oncology and Metabolism Professor Tim Skerry Head 1 Sep 15 - 31 Aug 19 hodom@sheffield.ac.uk 12414
Infection, Immunity and Cardiovascular Disease Professor Sheila Francis Head 1 Sep 15 s.francis@sheffield.ac.uk 8-12233
Medical School Professor Deborah Murdoch-Eaton Dean of Medical Education from 1 Sep 13 D.Murdoch-Eaton@sheffield.ac.uk 25546
Neuroscience Professor Paul Ince Head 1 Apr 11 - 31 Aug 18 p.g.ince@sheffield.ac.uk 8-12386
Nursing & Midwifery Tracey Moore Head 1 Aug 14 - 31 Aug 18 tracey.moore@sheffield.ac.uk 22056
ScHARR Professor John Brazier Dean of School from 1 Apr 17 - 31 Mar 21 j.e.brazier@sheffield.ac.uk 25453

FACULTY OF SCIENCE – Faculty Executive Board

Department Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
Animal & Plant Sciences Professor Mike Siva-Jothy Head 1 Sep 12 -
31 Aug 18
hodaps@sheffield.ac.uk 24111/24630
Biomedical Science Professor Kathryn Ayscough Head 1 Sep 16 - 31 Aug 20 k.ayscough@sheffield.ac.uk 22309
Chemistry Professor Mike Ward Head 1 Jan 15 -
31 Dec 19
ch-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 29484
Mathematics & Statistics, School of Professor John Biggins Head 1 Jan 14 - 31 Dec 17 somas-hos@sheffield.ac.uk   23813
Mathematics & Statistics, School of Professor Nick Monk Head Elect 16 May 17 - 31 Dec 17 n.monk@sheffield.ac.uk 23857
Molecular Biology & Biotechnology Professor Mike Williamson Head 1 Jun 17 -
31 May 21
hod.mbb@sheffield.ac.uk 24224
Physics & Astronomy Professor David Mowbray Interim Head Interim  d.mowbray@sheffield.ac.uk 24561
Psychology Professor Glenn Waller Head 1 Sep 16 - 31 Aug 20 g.waller@sheffield.ac.uk 26568

FACULTY OF SOCIAL SCIENCES – Faculty Executive Board 

Department Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
Architecture Professor Karim Hadjri Head 1 Sept 17 -
31 Aug 21
K.Hadjri@sheffield.ac.uk 20307
East Asian Studies, School of Professor Hugo Dobson Head 1 Feb 13 -
31 Aug 19
H.Dobson@sheffield.ac.uk 28437
Economics

Professor Peter Wright

Head

1 Sep 15 - 31 Aug 19

p.wright@sheffield.ac.uk

23413

Education, School of Professor Elizabeth Wood Head 1 Sep 16 -
31 Aug 20
edu-hos@sheffield.ac.uk 28172
Geography Professor David Robinson Head 1 Sept 17 -
31 Aug 21
David.Robinson@sheffield.ac.uk 27947
Information School Professor Peter Bath Head 1 Sep 16 -
31 Aug 19
inf-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 22636
Journalism Studies Professor Jacqueline Harrison and Dr Marie Kinsey Head 1 June 14 -
31 May 18

J.Harrison@sheffield.ac.uk/

M.Kinsey@sheffield.ac.uk

22509 / 22511
Landscape Professor James Hitchmough Head 1 Sep 14 -
31 Aug 18
J.D.Hitchmough@sheffield.ac.uk 20605
Law Professor Robert Burrell Head 1 Nov 15 - 31 Jul 19 R.G.Burrell@sheffield.ac.uk 26719
Management School Professor David Oglethorpe Dean from 1 Apr 13 D.Oglethorpe@sheffield.ac.uk 23362
Politics Professor Andrew Hindmoor (Interim) Head 01 Oct 17 - 30 Sep 18 politics-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 21706
Sociological Studies Professor Kate Morris Head 1 Jan 17 -
31 Dec 20
Kate.Morris@sheffield.ac.uk 26414
Urban Studies and Planning Professor Malcolm Tait Head 1 Aug 16 -
31 Aug 20
M.Tait@sheffield.ac.uk 26919

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES – Professional Services Executive      

INTERIM PROFESSIONAL SERVICES STRUCTURE (JULY 14) - Interim Structure

Mr Geoff Kendall Smith

M.A.BUTLER@SHEFFIELD.AC.UK

Department Name Status E-mail Extension
Accommodation & Commercial Services Ms Caryn Masters Director C.Masters@sheffield.ac.uk 28905
Corporate Communications Ms Tracy Wray Director of HR & Communications T.Wray@sheffield.ac.uk 21600
Corporate Information & Computing Services Mr Geoff Kendall Smith Interim Director c.sexton@sheffield.ac.uk 21113
Development, Alumni Relations and Events  Mr Miles Stevenson Director of Advancement miles.stevenson@sheffield.ac.uk 21070
Estates & Facilities Management Mr Keith Lilley Director keith.lilley@sheffield.ac.uk 29200
Finance Mr Bob Rabone Chief Financial Officer r.rabone@sheffield.ac.uk 21501
Ms Helen Dingle Director of Finance h.j.dingle@sheffield.ac.uk 21561
Human Resources Ms Tracy Wray Director of HR & Communications t.wray@sheffield.ac.uk 21600
Library Mrs Anne Horn Director of Library Services a.horn@sheffield.ac.uk 27222
Strategy, Planning and Governance  Dr Tony Strike Director of Strategy, Planning & Change tony.strike@sheffield.ac.uk 21211
Research & Innovation Services Mrs Deborah McClean Interim Director of Research & Innovation Services D.MCCLEAN@SHEFFIELD.AC.UK 21449
Global Engagement  Mr Malcolm Butler  Interim Director of Global Engagement

M.A.BUTLER@SHEFFIELD.AC.UK

29610
University Secretary and Director of Student Services Dr Andrew West Director a.west@sheffield.ac.uk 21272
Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Keith Burnett Vice-Chancellor vc@sheffield.ac.uk 21007

Please note that Heads listed in italics have been included for completeness as they provide leadership for their designated areas but without having full Head of Department responsibilities or FEB membership.