Heads of Academic Departments & Professional Services Directors

(For the Year 2019–2020)

FACULTY OF ARTS & HUMANITIES – Faculty Executive Board

Department Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
Archaeology Professor Caroline Jackson Head 1 Sep 18 -
31 Aug 21
archaeology-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 22918
East Asian Studies, School of Professor Kate Taylor-Jones Head 1 Sep 19 -
31 Aug 23
K.E.Taylor-Jones@sheffield.ac.uk 28406
English, School of Professor Joe Bray Head 1 Sep 18 -
31 Aug 22
J.Bray@sheffield.ac.uk 28489
History Professor Adrian Bingham Head 11 Sep 18 -
31 Aug 22
Adrian.Bingham@sheffield.ac.uk 22582
Languages & Cultures, School of Professor Jan Windebank Head 11 Sep 18 -
31 Aug 22
slc-hod@shef.ac.uk 24888
Modern Languages Teaching Centre Dr Laurent Semichon Head L.Semichon@sheffield.ac.uk 22863
Music Dr Simon Keegan-Phipps Head 11 Sep 18 -
31 Aug 22
S.Keegan-Phipps@sheffield.ac.uk 20465
Philosophy Professor Christopher Bennett Head 1 Sep 19 -
31 Aug 23
C.Bennett@sheffield.ac.uk 20583

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING – Faculty Executive Board

Department Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
Automatic Control & Systems Engineering Professor Daniel Coca Head 1 Sep 14 -
31 Aug 22
acse-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 25619
Chemical & Biological Engineering Professor Jim Litster Head 1 April 16 -
31 Aug 20
james.litster@sheffield.ac.uk 27592
Civil & Structural Engineering Professor Joby Boxall Head 1 Sep 17 -
31 Aug 21
j.b.boxall@sheffield.ac.uk 25760
Computer Science Professor Guy Brown Head 26 Oct 15 -
31 Aug 19
g.j.brown@sheffield.ac.uk 21821
Electronic & Electrical Engineering Professor Chee Hing Tan Head 1 Feb 19 -
31 Aug 23
c.h.tan@sheffield.ac.uk 25144

Interdisciplinary Programmes Office

Professor Harm Askes Director 1 September 17 -
31 August 20
h.askes@sheffield.ac.uk 25769
Materials Science & Engineering Professor John Haycock Head 1 Sep 19 -
31 Aug 23
j.w.haycock@sheffield.ac.uk 25972
Mechanical Engineering Professor Neil Sims Head 1 Sep 14 -
31 Aug 22
n.sims@sheffield.ac.uk   27724
Multidisciplinary Engineering Education Professor Stephen Beck Head 1 May 14 -
31 Aug 22
S.Beck@sheffield.ac.uk 27730

FACULTY OF MEDICINE, DENTISTRY & HEALTH – Faculty Executive Board

  Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
MEDICAL SCHOOL, DENTISTRY & ScHARR      
Clinical Dentistry Professor Chris Deery Dean of School 1 Aug 15 - 31 Aug 19  c.deery@sheffield.ac.uk 8-17832
Human Communication Sciences Professor Patricia Cowell Head 1 Aug 14 - 31 Aug 19 p.e.cowell@sheffield.ac.uk 22426
Oncology and Metabolism Professor Allan Pacey Head 1 Sept 17 - 31 Aug 21 a.pacey@sheffield.ac.uk 8-59665
Infection, Immunity and Cardiovascular Disease Professor Tm Chico  Head 1 Sep 18 - 31 Aug 22 T.J.Chico@sheffield.ac.uk  22396
Medical School Professor Deborah Murdoch-Eaton Dean of Medical Education From 1 Sep 13 D.Murdoch-Eaton@sheffield.ac.uk 25546
Neuroscience Professor Christopher McDermott Head 1 Jan 18 - 31 Aug 22 c.j.mcdermott@sheffield.ac.uk  22236
Nursing & Midwifery Tracey Moore Head 1 Aug 14 - 31 Aug 19 tracey.moore@sheffield.ac.uk 22056
ScHARR Professor John Brazier Dean of School 1 Apr 17 - 31 Mar 21 j.e.brazier@sheffield.ac.uk 25453

FACULTY OF SCIENCE – Faculty Executive Board

Department Name Status Dates E-mail Extension
Animal & Plant Sciences Professor Robert Freckleton Head 1 Sept 18 -
31 Aug 22
r.freckleton@sheffield.ac.uk 20017
Biomedical Science Professor Kathryn Ayscough Head 1 Sep 16-  31 Aug 20 k.ayscough@sheffield.ac.uk 22309
Chemistry Professor Graham Leggett Head 1 Aug 18 -
31 Jul 22
Graham.Leggett@sheffield.ac.uk 29556
Mathematics & Statistics, School of Professor Nick Monk Head 1 Jan 18 - 31 Dec 21 n.monk@sheffield.ac.uk 23857
Molecular Biology & Biotechnology Professor Mike Williamson Head 1 Jun 17 -
31 May 21
hod.mbb@sheffield.ac.uk 24224
Physics & Astronomy Professor Paul Crowther Head 1 Jan 18 - 31 Dec 21 paul.crowther@sheffield.ac.uk 24291
Psychology Professor Glenn Waller Head 1 Sep 16 - 31 Aug 20 g.waller@sheffield.ac.uk 26568

FACULTY OF SOCIAL SCIENCES – Faculty Executive Board 

Department Name Status Dates E-Mail Extension
Architecture, School of Professor Karim Hadjri Head 1 Sept 17 -
31 Aug 21
K.Hadjri@sheffield.ac.uk 20307
Economics Professor Steven McIntosh Head

1 Sep 19 - 31 Aug 23

S.McIntosh@sheffield.ac.uk 23406
Education, School of Professor Elizabeth Wood Head 1 Sep 16 -
31 Aug 20
edu-hos@sheffield.ac.uk 28172
Geography Professor Jenny Pickerill Head 1 Aug 19 -
31 Aug 23
hodgeography@sheffield.ac.uk 27960
Information School Professor Val Gillet Head 1 Aug 19 -
31 Aug 22
V.Gillet@sheffield.ac.uk 22652
Journalism Studies Professor Jacqueline Harrison Head 1 June 18 -
31 Aug 21
J.Harrison@sheffield.ac.uk 22509
Landscape Architecture Professor Anna Jorgensen Head 1 Sep 18 -
31 Aug 22
A.Jorgensen@sheffield.ac.uk 20621
Law, School of Professor Graham Gee Head 1 Oct 18 -
31 Aug 22
G.Gee@sheffield.ac.uk 26869
Management School Professor Rachael Finn Interim Dean 22 Jul 19 - 21 Jul 20 R.L.Finn@sheffield.ac.uk 23484
Politics and International Relations Professor Andrew Hindmoor Head 01 Oct 17 - 31 Aug 20 politics-hod@sheffield.ac.uk 21706
Sociological Studies Professor Nathan Hughes Head 1 May 19 -
31 Aug 23
Nathan.Hughes@sheffield.ac.uk 26439
Urban Studies and Planning Professor Malcolm Tait Head 1 Aug 16 -
31 Aug 20
M.Tait@sheffield.ac.uk 26919

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES – Professional Services Executive      

Department Name Status E-mail Extension
Accommodation & Commercial Services Ms Caryn Masters Director C.Masters@sheffield.ac.uk 28905
Academic Programmes and Student Engagement Services Ms Michelle Nolan Director of APSE m.nolan@sheffield.ac.uk
Corporate Communications Ms Tracy Wray Director of HR & Communications T.Wray@sheffield.ac.uk 21600
Corporate Information & Computing Services Ms Bella Abrams Director of IT bella.abrams@sheffield.ac.uk  21113
Development, Alumni Relations and Events Mr Miles Stevenson Director of Advancement miles.stevenson@sheffield.ac.uk 21070
English Language Teaching Centre Mr Richard Simpson Director of ELTC r.a.simpson@sheffield.ac.uk 21790
Estates & Facilities Management Mr Keith Lilley Director of Estates & Facilities Management keith.lilley@sheffield.ac.uk 29200
Finance Ms Helen Dingle Chief Finance Officer h.j.dingle@sheffield.ac.uk 21561
Global Engagement Dr Malcolm Butler Director of Global Engagement m.a.butler@sheffield.ac.uk 29610
Human Resources Ms Tracy Wray Director of HR & Communications t.wray@sheffield.ac.uk 21600
Library Mrs Anne Horn Director of Library Services a.horn@sheffield.ac.uk 27222
Partnerships and Regional Engagement Dr Sarah Want Director of Partnerships & Regional Engagement sarah.want@sheffield.ac.uk 21445
Planning and Insight Mrs Rhiannon Birch Head of Planning & Insight r.birch@sheffield.ac.uk 21200
Research Services Mrs Deborah McClean Director of Research Services d.mcclean@sheffield.ac.uk 21449
University Secretary's Office Dr Tony Strike University Secretary university.secretary@sheffield.ac.uk 21211
Student Recruitment and Admissions
Student Support Services Ms Susan Bridgeford Director of Student Support Services s.bridgeford@sheffield.ac.uk 21266
Vice Chancellor's Office Professor Koen Lamberts President and Vice-Chancellor vc@sheffield.ac.uk 21007
Corporate Services
Academic Services Mr Rob Sykes Director of Academic Services r.sykes@sheffield.ac.uk 24586