Stress Risk Management Working Group


Purpose of our work together

Created in May 2018, the University Stress Risk Management Working Group (SRMWG) is a sub group of the University Health & Safety Committee and comprises members from Human Resources, Health & Safety and the campus Trade Unions. It is tasked with proactively embedding stress risk management across the University and ensuring its mitigation is considered at the earliest opportunity. Members work together to ensure stress risk assessment becomes a proactive exercise between Health & Safety, campus Trade Unions and Human Resources, together with senior leaders in the University.

The group is chaired in turn by Health & Safety, Human Resources and the campus Trade Unions and discussions between all parties have been very positive in the context of encouraging and facilitating overall wellbeing amongst staff.

The group reports to the University Health and Safety Committee to ensure significant issues are given full consideration and action is taken where required.


What we are working on

  1. Recommendations on how stress risk management can be proactively embedded into existing processes and change management exercises to ensure its mitigation is considered at the earliest opportunity.
  2. Reviewing the inspection process relating to stress, with the goal of this becoming a proactive exercise between Health & Safety, campus Trade Unions and Human Resources, together with senior leaders in the institution.
  3. Recommendations on the methodology and tools to best assess and manage stress at both organisational and individual level.
  4. Considering how managers’ confidence and capability to manage stress might be developed; through focused development that links to the University’s leadership and management development.
  5. Understanding the interdependencies with other people strategies/approaches such as mental health & wellbeing, Juice and change management.

Current Projects

The SRMWG are providing proactive support to a number of departments to consider how they might reflect on the results of the recent workplace stress reports, assess the risk of (potential) stress in more depth and action plan.

As part of the above work, the SRMWG has developed a Department Stress Risk Assessment and Action Plan template, with accompanying guidance.  These can be downloaded via the downloads section on the right hand side of this page.

Designed to help capture the (potential) stressors and themes emerging from the workplace stress reports, this template can also be used more generally to support this work within departments and teams.

It is recommended that the completed Stress Risk Assessment and Action Plan is added as a standing item on department board and committee agendas to enable regular review of progress and updates to be captured.


Contact Details

SRMWG Member Email
Tom Fleming t.fleming@sheffield.ac.uk
Beverley Gouldsbrough b.gouldsbrough@sheffield.ac.uk
Gill Tait g.tait@sheffield.ac.uk
Emily Faulds e.faulds@sheffield.ac.uk
Mick Ashman m.ashman@sheffield.ac.uk
Yvonne Stephenson y.stephenson@sheffield.ac.uk
Andy Platts a.platts@sheffield.ac.uk
Jess Meacham jess.meacham@sheffield.ac.uk
Richard Cutts r.cutts@sheffield.ac.uk
Rob Hemus r.d.hemus@sheffield.ac.uk

For any informal queries please contact a group member who will be happy to help. Further updates on this group and their work will continue be added to this page so please keep checking back for information.