Current Research Students

Chemoinformatics Research Students

All Information School Research Students are listed below by Research Group. For further information, please visit our Research Group pages.

Chemoinformatics Research Students

Name Research Supervisor(s)
Christina Founti New machine learning methods for the analysis and modelling of pharmaceutical data

Professor Val Gillet

Gian Marco Ghiandoni Reaction-based molecule design

Professor Val Gillet

Dr Beining Chen (Department of Chemistry)

Lucyantie Mazalan Effect of dimensionality on the effectiveness of chemical similarity searching

Professor Peter Willett

Dr Laura Sbaffi

Matthew Seddon Development of novel techniques for assessing bio-isosteric similarity of chemical fragments. Professor Val Gillet
Back to the top

Digital Societies Research Students

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Penny Andrews The Role and Influence of Current Research Information Systems (CRIS) in UK Higher Education and Scholarly Communication

Professor Stephen Pinfield

Dr Andrew Cox

pcsandrews1@sheffield.ac.uk
Melanie Benson Marshall Information Use of Migrational Individuals and Public Library Space: An Ethnographic Study Dr Andrew Cox MTBenson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alexandra Boutopoulou Using Visual Social Media Data to Better Understand Food Safety Cultures

Dr Farida Vis

Dr Nick Emmel (University of Leeds)

ABoutopoulou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Xiaoli Chen Crowdsourcing solutions for metadata quality improvement in large-scale research digital libraries, with an application to a community-based information platform in High-Energy Physics

Professor Stephen Pinfield

Dr Paul Clough

XChen74@sheffield.ac.uk
Sukaina Ehdeed An exploratory study of young Libyans’ perceptions of the impact of social media during the period 2011-2016

Dr Jo Bates

Dr Andrew Cox

SMTEhdeed1@sheffield.ac.uk
Piyapat Jarusawat Lanna Information Management Collaborative Model

Dr Andrew Cox

Dr Jo Bates

PJarusawat1@sheffield.ac.uk
Itzelle Medina Perea The socio-cultural life of personal health data flows in the UK healthcare sector

Dr Jo Bates

Dr Andrew Cox

iamedinaperea1@sheffield.ac.uk
Emily Nunn Open access and the non-academic reader: Investigating the potential impact outside the academic community of open access to medical and education research

Professor Stephen Pinfield

Professor Peter Bath

ebnunn1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jun Zhang A study based on the analysis of deploying an integrated smart transportation system within the context of China.

Dr Jo Bates

Dr Christopher Foster

jzhang49@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Health Informatics Research Students

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Wasim Ahmed Pandemics and epidemics: User reactions on social media and Web 2.0 platforms

Professor Peter Bath

Dr Laura Sbaffi

Dr Gianluca Demartini

wahmed1@sheffield.ac.uk
Abdulaziz Almanea The social media usage by patients and the public to share information concerning breast cancer.

Professor Peter Bath

Dr Laura Sbaffi

amalmanea1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rabab Aljishi The Use of Data Mining Approaches to Gain a Better Understanding of Older People and their Health Problems Professor Peter Bath lip10ra@sheffield.ac.uk
Tomi Dimitrovski Preparedness for e-health in Macedonia Professor Peter Bath T.Dimitrovski@sheffield.ac.uk
Catherine Ebenezer An investigation of the impacts of information governance and security policies in the English NHS upon professional learning and information seeking

Professor Peter Bath

Professor Stephen Pinfield

lip12cme@sheffield.ac.uk
Thomas Poulter Requirements and benefits of electronic patient record systems in cancer treatment services Professor Peter Bath lip09twp@sheffield.ac.uk
Sally Sanger

Alcohol online support groups: the role of discussion forums in constructing users¿ understanding of their condition /disease

Professor Peter Bath

Dr Jo Bates

ssanger1@sheffield.ac.uk
Yuhua Wang Developing a better understanding of the factors that influence digital inclusion for active and healthy ageing among older people

Professor Peter Bath

Dr Christopher Foster

ywang271@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Information Retrieval Research Students

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Faisal Alvi Plagiarism Detection

Dr Mark Stevenson (Department of Computer Science)

Professor Paul Clough

Paula Goodale Constructing Personal Narratives through exploration in Cultural Heritage Spaces Online

Professor Paul Clough

Dr Andrew Cox

p.goodale@sheffield.ac.uk
Monica Lestari Paramita Methods to Build Comparable Corpora

Professor Paul Clough

Dr Rob Gaizauskas (Department of Computer Science)

m.paramita@sheffield.ac.uk
Sophie Rutter Setting tasks and assessing children's real-life use of search engines in primary school.

Professor Paul Clough

Professor Elaine Toms (Sheffield University Management School)

SARutter1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dave Walsh Supporting information access in digital cultural heritage

Professor Paul Clough

Dr Jonathan Foster

djwalsh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Philip Webster Investigating entity-centric methods for information exploration and discovery in big digital archives

Professor Paul Clough

Dr Robert Jäschke

philip.webster@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Information Systems Research Students

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Maram Alajamy The Role of Academic Librarians in Institutional Information System Strategic Planning: A Grounded Theory Study of Syrian Governmental Universities

Dr Andrew Cox

Professor Peter Willett

M.Alajamy@sheffield.ac.uk
Linhao Fang Challenges in the Introduction of Digital Technologies in Chinese SOEs - the Potential Risk of the Digital Archive

Dr Andrew Cox

Dr Peter Stordy

l.fang@sheffield.ac.uk
Shuyang Li Project Managers’ Construction of Successful Knowledge Sharing Practice in a Chinese Multi-product Industrial Company

Dr Jorge Martins

Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos

sli24@sheffield.ac.uk
Liliana Sepulveda Garcia Nonintrusive monitoring of the aging population in rural Mexico through mobile technologies.

Dr Pamela Abbott

Professor Peter Bath

lmsepulveda1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jun Zhang A study based on the analysis of deploying an integrated smart transportation system within the context of China.

Dr Jo Bates

Dr Christopher Foster

jzhang49@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Information, Knowledge and Innovation Management Research Students

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Bedour Alboloushi Factors affecting the innovation adoption in human resource information systems in the public sector organisations in Kuwait

Dr Jorge Martins

Dr Christopher Foster

Dr Angela Lin

BJAAlboloushi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dimitris Bibikas Towards a holistic model of the third generation of enterprise knowledge management systems Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos D.Bibikas@sheffield.ac.uk
Raudah Danila The Electronic Filing System: The Case of Malaysia

Dr Jorge Martins

Dr Angela Lin

rdanila1@sheffield.ac.uk
Meichengzi Du Formulating a Framework to Support Smart city Change Management

Dr Jonathan Foster

Professor Stephen Pinfield

MDu3@sheffield.ac.uk
Cristian-Andrei Gherhes Examining micro-business growth constraints: Some lessons for underperforming peripheral post-industrial towns

Professor T Vorley (SUMS)

Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos

cagherhes1@sheffield.ac.uk
Farshid Golzadeh Kermani The role of 'Absorptive Capacity' of knowledge in implementing knowledge management processes and its effect on business performance.

Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos

Dr Jorge Martins

fgolzadeh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bekim Kasumi The provisional topic is: The flow of knowledge across formal and informal networks of subsidiary companies and its impact on innovation in multinational companies.

Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos

Dr Jorge Martins

Dr Anastasios Karamanos (SEERC)

bkasumi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Shuyang Li Project Managers’ Construction of Successful Knowledge Sharing Practice in a Chinese Multi-product Industrial Company

Dr Jorge Martins

Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos

sli24@sheffield.ac.uk
Titima Thumbumrung Knowledge sharing across boundaries in interdisciplinary scientific and technological research projects in Thailand

Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos

Dr Andrew Cox

tthumbumrung1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ying Wang Exploring how nascent digital enterprises develop relational capabilities with local businesses in a mutually reinforcing perspective

Dr Jorge Martins

Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos

YWang172@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Libraries and Information Society Research Students

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Marc Bonne The effect of educational games on maths anxiety in University students Ms Sheila Webber

Dr Paul Clough
mabonne1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jess Elmore An exploration of the relationship between English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) learning, the information literacy of participants, and its impact on their everyday lives

Ms Sheila Webber

Dr Peter Stordy

JRElmore2@sheffield.ac.uk
Dan Grace Creating the convivial library: exploring the effect of technology on the public libraries capacity to promote community resilience.

Dr Andrew Cox

Dr Jo Bates

DPGrace1@sheffield.ac.uk
Piyapat Jarusawat Lanna Information Management Collaborative Model

Dr Andrew Cox

Dr Jo Bates

PJarusawat1@sheffield.ac.uk
Evanthia Tramantza A longitudinal comparative case study of Engineering students' Information Literacy perceptions and needs in the UK and in Greece.

Dr Panagiotis Ketikidis (SEERC)

Ms Sheila Webber

lip12et@sheffield.ac.uk
Preeyanuch Voravickositt Understanding the relationship between users' reading attitudes, behaviours and e-books collection management in Thai academic libraries.

Professor Stephen Pinfield

Dr Andrew Cox

pvoravickositt1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jon Webster The history, development and cultural impact of libraries in the North Riding of Yorkshire  1775-1914. Dr Briony Birdi lip12jmw@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top