Our research students

This page lists our current PhD students by surname, and contains links to their web profiles. Select the options below to filter by research group.

Chemoinformatics

Digital societies

Health informatics

Libraries and information society

Information retrieval

Information systems

Information, knowledge, and innovation management

VIEW ALL

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Al Wahshi, Jahad Data Analysis for Business Intelligence: A Critical Evaluation of the role of Business Intelligence and Data Analysis in Money Laundering and Fraud Detections in Oman Banking Industry Jonathan Foster, Pamela Abbott JRAlWahshi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alotaibi, Norah The Efficiency and Quality of E-Government Services: An Analytical Study of Smartphone Applications in the Saudi Ministries Salihu Dasuki, Efpraxia Zamani NHMAlotaibi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alboloushi, Bedour The Development of Administrative Innovation in Relation to Post-Adoption Usage of Human Resource Information Systems in Public Sector Organizations

Jorge Martins, Angela Lin

BJAAlboloushi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ali Hafedh, Hooria Knowledge transfer from the perspective of a “Quadruple Helix”:  The banking sector in Bahrain

Ana Vasconcelos, Jonathan Foster

HAHafedh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Almanea, Abdulaziz The Role of Online Support Groups in Empowering People with Type 2 Diabetes in the United Kingdom

Peter Bath, Laura Sbaffi

AMAlmanea1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alnuhayt, Ahmed The Role of Computational Intelligence and Aggregation Systems in Decision Making Suvodeep Mazumdar, Vitaveska Lanfranchi (Computer Science), Frank Hopfgartner AAlnuhayt1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alqusair, Abdulkareem Product category extraction and linking in the area of semantic web Ziqi Zhang, Paul Clough AOAlqusair1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alsuhaibani, Anas Investigating the Role of Social Media in Supporting International Students Transition to Study in the UK

Andrew Cox, Frank Hopfgartner

AHAlsuhaibani1@sheffield.ac.uk
Andrews, Penny CS 'Faffing about': gatekeepers, values and flows in research sharing infrastructures

Stephen Pinfield, Andrew Cox

Aylward, Bethany Web-archiving needs of archives in South Yorkshire

Andrew Cox, Jorge Martins

BMAylward1@sheffield.ac.uk
Barber, Laura The perceived efficacy of online, blended, and face-to-face teaching methods of Information Literacy within Higher Education institutions Sheila WebberPam McKinney LDBarber1@sheffield.ac.uk
Basholli, Adelina Wireless monitoring systems for enhancing health services in developing regions

Peter Bath, Thomas Lagkas (SEERC)

ABasholli1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bonne, Marc Educational games and their impact on mathematics anxiety in University students

Sheila Webber, Frank Hopfgartner

MABonne1@sheffield.ac.uk
Boutopoulou, Alexandra Using Visual Social Media Data to Better Understand Food Safety Cultures: The case of wellness bloggers

Briony Birdi, Nick Emmel (Leeds)

ABoutopoulou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chen, Xiaoli Crowdsourcing solutions for metadata quality improvement in large-scale research digital libraries, with an application to a community-based information platform in High-Energy Physics

Stephen Pinfield, Paul Clough

XChen74@sheffield.ac.uk
Chen, Xuanning Information Behaviours Angela Lin, Sheila Webber XChen158@sheffield.ac.uk
Chirwa, Elijah An Examination on the impact of digital disruptive innovations on central banks and formulating a strategy for the digital age

Pamela Abbott, Jonathan Foster

echirwa1@sheffield.ac.uk
Cui, Cui Towards a framework for constructing an open digital library of web archives - Creating a small scale, topic-based digital library of web archives of Chinese studies Frank Hopfgartner, Andrew Cox CCui3@sheffield.ac.uk
Da Moura Semedo, Daisy Mining health information on the Social Web: towards an understanding of the influence of social media on public healthcare

Peter Bath, Ziqi Zhang

cdamourasemedo1@sheffield.ac.uk
Du, Meichengzi Formulating a Framework to Support Smart city Change Management

Jonathan Foster, Stephen Pinfield

MDu3@sheffield.ac.uk
Duffin, Suzanne A study of information needs and information sharing amongst people on the autism spectrum, using online support and discussion  groups

Peter Bath, Laura Sbaffi

LIP14SD@sheffield.ac.uk
Edwards, Victoria What are the key influences in the quality control of bibliographic metadata for e-books in UK academic libraries? Peter Stordy, Stephen Pinfield VEEdwards2@sheffield.ac.uk
Fallatah, Omaima Mapping and aligning large Knowledge Bases

Ziqi Zhang, Frank Hopfgartner

OAFallatah1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fang, Linhao A design science research approach to self-regulated e-learning: design, development and evaluation of a web-based component in a blended learning environment for phonetic transcription

Andrew Cox, Peter Stordy

L.Fang@sheffield.ac.uk
Fenn, Paul Social Media as a tool to enhance Higher Education learning and teaching experiences Paul Reilly, Ziqi Zhang PFenn1@sheffield.ac.uk
Founti, Christina New machine learning methods for the analysis and modelling of pharmaceutical data

Val Gillet

CMFounti1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ghiandoni, Gian Marco Reaction-based molecule design

Val Gillet, Beining Chen (Chemistry)

GMGhiandoni1@sheffield.ac.uk
Goodale, Paula Constructing Personal Narratives Through Exploration of Cultural Spaces Online

Andrew Cox, Frank Hopfgartner

PGoodale1@sheffield.ac.uk
Grace, Dan Creating a convivial library: crisis, the commons and community resilience

Andrew Cox, Jo Bates

DPGrace1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hayes, Jenny The Use of Social Media for Sousveillance Paul ReillyZiqi Zhang JHayes4@sheffield.ac.uk
Higman, Rosie Open Access and the Role of the National Library

Stephen Pinfield, Laura Sbaffi, Torsten Reimer

poa06rh@sheffield.ac.uk
Hodson, Stefan P. Investigating information literacy in the Civil Service workplace Pam McKinneySheila Webber SPHodson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hoodless, Catherine Subject v. functional: the relationship between changing organisational structures and the transformation of academic libraries and the profession of librarianship

Stephen Pinfield, Andrew Cox

CLHoodless1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kasumi, Bekim Network management for innovation performance of Research Track 1: Enterprise Innovation and Development

Ana VasconcelosJorge MartinsAnastasios Diamantidis (SEERC)

BKasumi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Liu, Yuyang Machine learning and health informatics Suvodeep Mazumdar, Peter Bath YLiu369@sheffield.ac.uk
McKenna-Aspell, Jo Are public libraries essential or critical? A study of public perceptions of public libraries in England, in the context of outdated legislation and austerity from 2010 to 2021 Briony Birdi, Kate Dommett (Politics) JMcKenna-Aspell1@sheffield.ac.uk
Medina-Perea, Itzelle The socio-cultural life of personal health data flows in the UK healthcare sector

Jo Bates, Andrew Cox

IAMedinaPerea1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mendes Pinto, David Testing the effectiveness of socially reflective tools to aid collaboration. Research target is secondary schools which will constitute a 'self-discipline system'. Includes possible testing of a trust-metric algorithm. Pamela Abbott, Peter Stordy DMendesPinto1@sheffield.ac.uk
Nafisa, Muntaha Evaluating health information systems Research Title : Evaluating the quality of the existing EHR Systems of Govt. Healthcare facilities of Bangladesh: Journey Towards National Shared Health Record

Jonathan Foster, Pamela Abbott, Peter Bath

MANafisa1@sheffield.ac.uk
Newcomb, Molly

Briony Birdi, Anna Barton (English)

MANewcomb1@sheffield.ac.uk
Nunn, Emily Open Access outside academia: exploring access to medical and educational research for non-academics

Stephen Pinfield, Peter Bath

ebnunn1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ofulue, Laura Understanding Motivation and its Impacts on Governance within Crowdsourcing Platforms

Jonathan Foster, Frank Hopfgartner

NOfulue1@sheffield.ac.uk
Pretlove, Lee The quantified runner: the long-term value and preservation of parkrunners' self-tracking fitness data from the perspectives of the parkrunner, self-tracking device manufacturers and archival institutions

Andrew Cox, Laura Sbaffi, Frank Hopfgartner

ljpretlove1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sahhari, Khulud The UK Public Libraries' Strategies of Serving A Multicultural Society: The Arab Community as a Case Study Briony Birdi, Lucy Mayblin (Sociological Studies) KASahhari1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sanger, Sally Alcohol online support groups: the role of discussion forums in constructing users understanding of their condition /disease

Peter Bath, Jo Bates

SSanger1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sepulveda Garcia, Lily An Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis of Informal Caregivers use of Assistive Technologies to care for people with dementia at home

Pamela Abbott, Peter Bath

LMSepulveda1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stacey, Jess Data Mining for Lead Optimisation

Val Gillet, Robert Harrison (ACSE), Stephen Pickett (GSK)

JEStacey1@sheffield.ac.uk
Tramantza, Evanthia Information literacy skills teaching and its impact on the employability of engineering students in the University of Surrey.

Sheila Webber, Panayiotis Ketikedis (SEERC)

lip12et@sheffield.ac.uk
Toner, James Understanding organisational learning and knowledge sharing in pursuit of organisational effectiveness: A multi-actor, international school perspective. Ana Vasconcelos, Pam McKinney JToner1@sheffield.ac.uk
Walsh, Dave Supporting information access in digital cultural heritage

Paul Clough, Jonathan Foster, Frank Hopfgartner

DJWalsh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Walter, Moritz Understanding artificial intelligence models for toxicity prediction Val Gillet, Antonio de la Vega de Leon MWalter4@sheffield.ac.uk
Wang, Jing Digital Collaboration Pamela Abbott, Efpraxia Zamani JWang150@sheffield.ac.uk
Wang, Yuhua Developing a better understanding of the factors that influence digital inclusion for active and healthy ageing among older people

Peter Bath, Laura Sbaffi

YWang271@sheffield.ac.uk
Webster, James Biological systems approach to de novo design

Val Gillet, Beining Chen (Chemistry)

JWebster3@sheffield.ac.uk
Webster, Jon The history, development and cultural impact of libraries in the North Riding of Yorkshire  1775-1914

Briony Birdi

lip12jmw@sheffield.ac.uk
Weerakoon, Naveendra Service Innovation in Knowledge Intensive Business Services. Approach of Managing Knowledge Across Boundaries

Ana Vasconcelos, Jorge Martins

NCWeerakoon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Xie, Haoyu A Research on the Self-Organization of Crowdsourcing Workers Alessandro Checco, Efpraxia Zamani HXie5@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhang, Jun A study based on the analysis of deploying an integrated smart transportation system within the context of China

Jo Bates, Pamela Abbott

JZhang49@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhao, Zhixue Learning from unbalanced data and limited data for automated hate speech detection Ziqi Zang, Frank Hopfgartner ZZhao33@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhu, Yuzhen Understanding the Role of Information and Communication Technology in the Shaping of Interorganizational Knowledge Exchange Practice: Proposing an ICT-based Generic Knowledge Management Framework for the European Living Lab Ecosystem Jorge Martins, Efpraxia Zamani YZhu74@sheffield.ac.uk