Our research students

This page lists our current PhD students by surname, and contains links to their web profiles. Select the options below to filter by research group.

Chemoinformatics

DIGITAL SOCIETIES

Health informatics

Libraries and information society

Information retrieval

Information systems

Information, knowledge, and innovation management

View all

Name Research Supervisor(s) Email
Alsuhaibani, Anas Investigating the Role of Social Media in Supporting International Students Transition to Study in the UK

Andrew Cox, Frank Hopfgartner

AHAlsuhaibani1@sheffield.ac.uk
Andrews, Penny CS 'Faffing about': gatekeepers, values and flows in research sharing infrastructures

Stephen Pinfield, Andrew Cox

Aylward, Bethany Web-archiving needs of archives in South Yorkshire

Andrew Cox, Jorge Martins

BMAylward1@sheffield.ac.uk
Boutopoulou, Alexandra Using Visual Social Media Data to Better Understand Food Safety Cultures: The case of wellness bloggers

Briony Birdi, Nick Emmel (Leeds)

ABoutopoulou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chen, Xiaoli Crowdsourcing solutions for metadata quality improvement in large-scale research digital libraries, with an application to a community-based information platform in High-Energy Physics

Stephen Pinfield, Paul Clough

XChen74@sheffield.ac.uk
Ehdeed, Skina (Sukaina) The Emergence of Libyan Networked Publics: Social Media Use during and after the Libyan Uprising

Jo Bates, Andrew Cox

SMTEhdeed1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fenn, Paul Social Media as a tool to enhance Higher Education learning and teaching experiences Paul Reilly, Ziqi Zhang PFenn1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hayes, Jenny The Use of Social Media for Sousveillance Paul ReillyZiqi Zhang JHayes4@sheffield.ac.uk
Medina-Perea, Itzelle The socio-cultural life of personal health data flows in the UK healthcare sector

Jo Bates, Andrew Cox

IAMedinaPerea1@sheffield.ac.uk
Nunn, Emily Open Access outside academia: exploring access to medical and educational research for non-academics

Stephen Pinfield, Peter Bath

ebnunn1@sheffield.ac.uk
Pretlove, Lee The quantified runner: the long-term value and preservation of parkrunners' self-tracking fitness data from the perspectives of the parkrunner, self-tracking device manufacturers and archival institutions

Andrew Cox, Laura Sbaffi, Frank Hopfgartner

ljpretlove1@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhang, Jun A study based on the analysis of deploying an integrated smart transportation system within the context of China

Jo Bates, Pamela Abbott

JZhang49@sheffield.ac.uk