13 September 2005

Students make final of student journalism awards

Image of Claire Bates and Chris Johnson with Piers Morgan

Two Sheffield University journalism students reached the finals of the UK Press Gazette 2005 Student Journalism awards.

Image of Claire Bates

Claire Bates, who studied on the MA Web Course, was nominated for the Online Student Journalist award, and Chris Johnson, who took the MA Print Course, was shortlisted in the Scoop of the Year category.
Although neither managed to clinch the top prize, both said they enjoyed the experience and the awards ceremony, which took place at the old Whitbread brewery in the City of London on September 9.
Claire, 22, who submitted a portfolio of stories she produced for the MA team’s website, is currently working for the Daily Mail’s online operation.

Image of Chris Johnson

Chris, also 22, has just started work as a reporter with the News Shopper in south London. His shortlisted entry was an exclusive report of a security breach at Luton airport that was used in the online edition of the Daily Mail.
During the ceremony UK Press Gazette editor Ian Reeves and proprietor Piers Morgan unveiled a new scholarship scheme, called Press Cadets, which is loosely based on the hit BBC show, The Apprentice, starring Sir Alan Sugar.
Ten students will be selected to take part in the scheme. They will be asked to carry out a series of assignments and two will be ‘sacked’ each week.
The final two survivors will each be offered a 12 month contract with the UKPG, funded by Lotto operator Camelot.

Controversially, the awards judges decided not to award a first prize in the Student Television Journalist category.
Other category winners were:
Student News Writer of the Year: Adam Jupp (Trinity Mirror). Highly Commended – Adam Aspinall (Trinity Mirror).
Student Feature Writer of the Year: Toby Skinner (City University).
Student Interview of the Year: Laura Topham (City University).
Student Online Journalist of the Year: Rebecca Appleton (Nottingham Trent University).
Student Scoop of the Year: Adrian Kajumba (Highbury College).
Student Radio Journalist of the Year: Mike Wendling (Goldsmiths). Highly Commended – Callum Thomson (University of Central Lancashire).
Student Photographer of the Year: Daniel Kitwood (Norton College, Sheffield).
Student Team of the Year: Other Words (City University).
Student Journalist of the Year: Laura Topham (City University)