Magazine students shine again as PPA awards announced

And a strong showing for Sheffield in NCTJ excellence shortlist

Jack Stubbs and Karranjit Sohota at the PPA awardsThe Launchpad team at the PPA awards

Sheffield journalism students and graduates claimed another hatful of prizes as the 2013 Magazine Academy awards were announced this week.

The award for best new student magazine went to Aspire – the UK's first disability sport magazine, created by Jack Stubbs, Karranjit Sahota (above left) and their team at the Department of Journalism Studies. Sheffield also took the prize for best new magazine concept, which went to Off The Ground. The team behind Launchpad (above right) were highly commended in the new magazine of the year category.

The winners in full

The Magazine Academy awards are contested by students on the 17 UK courses accredited by the Periodicals Training Council (PTC), including our MA in Magazine Journalism. The competition is overseen by the PTC together with the Professional Publishers' Association (PPA). The winners received their prizes at a ceremony on 17 October at the Brewery in the City of London.

Loraine Davies, director of the PTC, said: "Congratulations to the University of Sheffield on their two wins and particularly to the team behind Aspire. It's a fantastic magazine idea that's been executed really well, and they deserve the satisfaction of seeing it professionally produced through Magazine Academy's founding sponsors Polestar and UPM."


Excellence shortlisting

The department has made a strong showing in another set of industry awards, with four young Sheffield journalists named in the National Council for the Training of Journalists' (NCTJ's) Awards for Excellence shortlist.

Nathan Briant is nominated for the student news journalism award, while Hannah Bryan is in the running for best student top scoop/exclusive. The student features of the year shortlist includes Lauren Peel, and Phoebe Jackson's work at the Hull Daily Mail makes her a contender for trainee features of the year.

Winners will be revealed at the Journalism Skills Conference in Bournemouth on 27 November.

The NCTJ shortlist


Photographs © Professional Publishers' Association