Our staff

Here are the lecturers, tutors and professors whose outstanding teaching and research make the Department of Journalism Studies a leader in our field across the UK and internationally.

Click through to view a staff member's profile.

Joint heads of department

Jackie Harrison

Prof Jackie Harrison

Professor of Public Communication
Director of research

Email: j.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2509

Marie Kinsey

Prof Marie Kinsey

Professor of Journalism Education

Email: m.kinsey@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2511

Lisa BradleyLisa Bradley

University Teacher
Director of learning and teaching

Email: l.v.bradley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2544


Mark BradleyMark Bradley

University Teacher

Email: m.bradley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 4259


Kaye CarlKaye Carl

University Teaching Associate

Email: b.k.carl@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2504


Bill CarmichaelBill Carmichael

University Teacher

Email: william.carmichael@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2513


Hadrian CawthorneHadrian Cawthorne

University Teaching Associate

Email: h.p.cawthorne@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2533


Dmitry ChernobrovDr Dmitry Chernobrov

Lecturer in Journalism, Politics and Public Communication

Email: d.chernobrov@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2542


Peter ColePeter Cole

Emeritus Professor

Email: p.g.cole@sheffield.ac.uk


Martin ConboyProf Martin Conboy

Professor of Journalism History

Email: m.conboy@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2505


Lynn DixonLynn Dixon

University Teacher

Email: l.dixon@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2543


Omar Al-GhazziDr Omar Al-Ghazzi

Lecturer in Journalism, Politics and Public Communication

Email: o.el-ghazzi@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2541


Mark HannaMark Hanna

Senior University Teacher

Email: m.hanna@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2510


Tony HarcupDr Tony Harcup

Senior Lecturer in Journalism Studies

Email: t.harcup@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2502


William HorsleyWilliam Horsley

International Director, Centre for Freedom of the Media (CFOM)


Yvonne IllsleyYvonne Illsley

University Teacher

Email: y.l.illsley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2503


Irini KatsireaDr Irini Katsirea

Reader in International Media Law

Email: i.katsirea@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2540


Petar MilinDr Petar Milin

Senior Lecturer in Data Science

Email: p.milin@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2491


Will OliphantWill Oliphant

University Teaching Assistant

Email: w.oliphant@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2496


Stef PukallusDr Stefanie Pukallus

Lecturer

Email: s.pukallus@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 4256


Piers RobinsonProf Piers Robinson

Chair in Politics, Society and Political Journalism

Email: piers.robinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2492


Matt RobsonMatt Robson

University Teaching Associate

Email: m.robson@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 4255


John SteelDr John Steel

Lecturer in Journalism Studies

Email: j.steel@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2545


Katie StewartKatie Stewart

Senior University Teacher

Email: katie.stewart@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2514


Colin SykesColin Sykes

University Teacher in Broadcast Journalism

Email: colin.sykes@sheffield.ac.uk