Our staff

Here are the lecturers, tutors and professors whose outstanding teaching and research make the Department of Journalism Studies a leader in our field across the UK and internationally.

Click through to view a staff member's profile.

Joint heads of department

Jackie Harrison

Prof Jackie Harrison

Professor of Public Communication

Email: j.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2509

Marie Kinsey

Prof Marie Kinsey

Professor of Journalism Education

Email: m.kinsey@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2511

Jared Ahmad

Dr Jared Ahmad

Lecturer in Journalism, Politics and Communication

Email: j.ahmad@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2530

Lisa Bradley

Lisa Bradley

University Teacher
Director of learning and teaching

Email: l.v.bradley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2544

Mark Bradley

Mark Bradley

University Teacher

Email: m.bradley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 4259

Kaye Carl

Kaye Carl

University Teaching Associate

Email: b.k.carl@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2504

Bill Carmichael

Bill Carmichael

University Teacher

Email: william.carmichael@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2513

Hadrian Cawthorne

Hadrian Cawthorne

University Teaching Associate

Email: h.p.cawthorne@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2533

Dmitry Chernobrov

Dr Dmitry Chernobrov

Lecturer in Journalism, Politics and Public Communication

Email: d.chernobrov@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2542

Peter Cole

Peter Cole

Emeritus Professor

Email: p.g.cole@sheffield.ac.uk

Martin Conboy

Prof Martin Conboy

Professor of Journalism History

Email: m.conboy@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2505

Lynn Dixon

Lynn Dixon

University Teacher

Email: l.dixon@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2543

Mark Hanna

Mark Hanna

Senior University Teacher

Email: m.hanna@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2510

Tony Harcup

Dr Tony Harcup

Senior Lecturer in Journalism Studies

Email: t.harcup@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2502

Emma Heywood

Dr Emma Heywood

Lecturer in Journalism, Politics and Communication

Email: e.heywood@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2541

William Horsley

William Horsley

International Director, Centre for Freedom of the Media (CFOM)

Yvonne Illsley

Yvonne Illsley

University Teacher

Email: y.l.illsley@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2503

Irini Katsirea

Dr Irini Katsirea

Reader in International Media Law

Email: i.katsirea@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2540

Petar Milin

Dr Petar Milin

Senior Lecturer in Data Science
Director of research

Email: p.milin@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2491

Ralph Negrine

Prof Ralph Negrine

Emeritus Professor of Political Communication

Email: r.negrine@sheffield.ac.uk

Will Oliphant

Will Oliphant

University Teaching Associate

Email: w.oliphant@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2496

Stef Pukallus

Dr Stefanie Pukallus

Lecturer

Email: s.pukallus@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 4256

Piers Robinson

Prof Piers Robinson

Chair in Politics, Society and Political Journalism

Email: piers.robinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2492

Matt Robson

Matt Robson

University Teaching Associate

Email: m.robson@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 4255

John Steel

Dr John Steel

Lecturer in Journalism Studies

Email: j.steel@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2545

Katie Stewart

Katie Stewart

Senior University Teacher

Email: katie.stewart@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: (+44)(0)114 222 2514

Colin Sykes

Colin Sykes

University Teacher in Broadcast Journalism

Email: colin.sykes@sheffield.ac.uk