Landscape students get set for multi-disciplinary design challenge

The TRADA University Challenge will take place in the Diamond Building

Nine students from the Department of Landscape Architecture are teaming up with architecture, engineering and quantity surveying students to go head-to-head in a battle to design healthy and energy efficient university accommodation.

The students – who are all in the 3rd year of their undergraduate studies – will take part in the TRADA University Challenge on 8-9 February.

The 2019 TRADA University Challenge takes 60 students from all over the UK and asks them to design student accommodation that has the potential to improve the health and wellbeing of its residents.

Students will be split into ten teams of six – each including two architects or architectural technologists, two engineers, a landscape architect and a quantity surveyor. The multidisciplinary focus of the challenge is designed to create situations and relationships comparable to the ones students will encounter on professional project teams. Support will be on hand from pioneering design professionals and industry members.

The challenge, which is based in the University of Sheffield’s Diamond building, will also task teams with ensuring their designs come in on budget.

Judges for the competition include architects Alex Abbey of Cullinan Studio, Waugh Thistleton’s Kieran Walker and dRMM’s Patrick Usborne; engineers Tom Harley-Tuffs of Ramboll, AKT II’s Ricardo Candel, and Arup’s Jaffel Versi; quantity surveyor Oliver Booth of Gardiner & Theobald; and landscape architect Stephanie Crewe of LUC.

Tabitha Binding, TRADA’s University Engagement Manager, said: “Our University Challenge is all about putting multidisciplinary teams, where students have not met prior, up against a strict deadline – and watching them flourish while working together within a practical context. We want to help students gain confidence in how to design, specify, cost and build”.

The 60 students taking part come from all over the UK from Universities including Bath, Bournemouth, Bristol, Canterbury, Cardiff, Coventry, Derby, Dundee, Edinburgh Napier, Herts, Leicester DMU, Liverpool, Newcastle, Norwich University of the Arts, Nottingham Trent, Reading, Salford, Sheffield, Sheffield Hallam, Strathclyde, Trinity St David, UEL, UWS, and UWE.

Find out more about the 2019 University Challenge here.